real effects

December 21, 2009

You know how I said the special effects in 2012 were so bad that when the water started pouring over the top of the Himalayas (uh huh, the water in 2012 reached the TOP of the Himalayas) I felt like I was watching the Red Sea part in The Ten Commandments?

Well, truth is stranger than fiction. The view from near my house this morning:

effects over

I work about halfway out there in that.

This is what it’s like UNDER the water:

effects under

I feel like Rick Deckard in Bladerunner. I’m sitting at my desk waiting for Edward James Olmos to tap me on the shoulder and tell me the replicants are loose.

16 Responses to “real effects”

  1. VA Biker Says:

    Would you call that an inversion layer or just plain fog? Serious question, being a mid-Atlantic dweller.

    • dug Says:

      right now it’s both. but it’s the inversion that starts things. salt lake city is in a big salad bowl, and when there is snow on the ground and it’s cold, this layer will stick around as long as it takes to get a storm.

      looking at getting a storm tonight. whew.

      • VA Biker Says:

        Thanks for the explanation.

        BTW, I will eventually watch 2012, as checked out from the library in about a year. This after the poor suckers who will buy it when it comes out on DVD, then donate it because it’s so bad.

        I won’t pay money to see such a movie, but as The Day After Tomorrow and Armageddon rank as my all-time favorite scientifically implausible movies, 2012 is irresistible.

  2. bikemike Says:

    are they in 3-D? that’s the wave of the future.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    Do I see a 10 foot tall blue alien with a tail by the school bus?

  4. Doug Says:

    The valley was gross. I drove by the Chevron at about 7 am an you could only see about 30 feet in front of the car. That view makes me want to move up the mountain.

    • mark Says:

      Doug, we’d welcome you with open arms.

      Dug, you, me, and at least a dozen others stopped at that same spot and snapped photos on our way into the soup this morning. Did you see the herd of elk lower down the hill about 7:45?

  5. Nate Says:

    I opted for the “safer” place to take pictures. Holding my phone while driving. It worked. It was crazy to see how many cars had pulled over. Like driving in Yellowstone.

  6. Jason Says:

    Add me to the list of rubberneckers. Coolest I’ve seen it in my 4 1/2 years up here.

  7. Eber Says:

    Coming up the hill last night was even better the lights coming up from under the soup looked like a shot from Hubble.

  8. KanyonKris Says:

    Oddly, Utah Valley was mostly clear of fog, except over the lake. It surprised me going over the Point to see Salt Lake Valley socked in.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    somehow just bounced across your blog. it has the same name as mine. not sure who stole it from whom. anyway, the way you write makes me think we might be related (sucky air quality, eating too much and the office references). nice work.

  10. DeLaina Says:

    Oddly enough the $19,000 flashing sign at Mike Weir was blinking FOG AHEAD, as a warning to those headed UP the mountain on Sunday AND Monday!!! Just past that point everything was crystal clear all the way up to the top and down the other side.

  11. boodabiker Says:

    That fog is one of the main reasons why I’m glad I don’t live there any more. Spent my adolescence there and resolved never to live in that crap again, too depressing for me. I like the sun, and AZ has plenty of that, I love skiing and it is only 3 hours away and no snow to shovel the next day. May not be for everyone, but it sure works for me.


Leave a Reply

