songs and skiing

February 5, 2010

I can’t figure out if Apple has a specific music taste, or just my iPhone, but ever since I implemented the “random all-songs” play method, I’ve been hearing an awful lot of REM and Christmas music.

Which is okay, since I really like REM, and who doesn’t like Christmas music?

But while I was hiking up Southeast Cardiff yesterday afternoon (really, afternoon, and it was awesome, Rob and I decided maybe in the future we should go to WORK at 4:30 in the morning, and SKI in the afternoon–I think it’ll catch on), I got the following sequence of songs:

  • REM, Walk Unafraid (maybe the perfect song for beginning a backcountry tour this year)
  • I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Clause (when you’ve buried the iPhone in an inside pocket and you’re committed to the random all-songs play method, you’ve just gotta suck it up)
  • L ‘Estasi Dell’ Oro (theme from the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly, sort of, and really, I could listen to this all day)
  • REM, What’s the Frequency Kenneth (and the song that got me going on my Apple conspiracy theory, out of like 7 REM songs in two hours)
  • The Wombats, Let’s Dance to Joy Division (Ian turned me on to this, and it’s awesome)
  • Sinead O’Conner, Her Mantle So Green (and I SWEAR I was not tearing up listening to this, I had something in my eye)
  • We Three Kings, Sufjan Stevens (maybe it’s time to retire the Christmas playlist until next Christmas–just a thought)
  • The Qemists, Dem Na Like Me (another Ian song, and I’m diggin my Ian songs)
  • George Winston, Carol of the Bells (I’m pretty sure this is when Rob passed me with a funny look on his face)
  • Ministry, Stigmata (passed Rob right back with this one–“my favorite weapon, is the look in your eyes!”)

Anyway, I don’t want to go on and on about this (ha, too late!). Just wanted to give you an idea of what was in my head. Kind of.

The point is, I slept in and didn’t hike the Circle Awl trees with Mark, but managed to squeeze out an afternoon Cardiff, thinking we’d be skiing steep breakable crust. Turns out, the upper southeast bowl was shockingly good. And we even had a Samurai sighting–Jared made the national team, and was out celebrating by doing intervals up and down Cardiff and Toledo. Two laps to every ONE of ours.

So I’ve got that going for me. Which is nice.

Rob hiking just below Cardiff Peak:

rob climbing

The drop-in point:

rob top

Pointing ’em down (lap two, since you can see Rob’s tracks on that rock he dropped off):

dug tips

Me hitting the rock (hard to time it with an iPhone camera):

dug dropping rock

Rob, after hitting it, since I missed him dropping the rock:

rob skiing close

The good stuff (the snow, not the picture–I’m just a camera phone guy):

rob skiing medium

Happy to have found some good snow, a rarity these days:

dug bottom apres

18 Responses to “songs and skiing”

  1. Rob Says:

    Still smiling…

    My binding busted this morning in AF canyon during a DP. Irritating – but I’m just glad it held on for me through yesterday. At least it gave me that.

  2. Jared Says:

    Rob and Dug. Good to meet you. You are much normal-er in person than on the blog. A little zipper crust at the end eh?

  3. mark Says:

    Dug, I hate Christmas music.

    Rob, time for some Dynafits. I may have a hookup–text me.

  4. Adventure Nell Says:

    Wow, envy you the snow. Here in Victoria, we are dealing with no snow, lots of sun and plenty of riding opportunities…harsh, I know. Wanted to thank you for putting up some of the music you listen to. I had never heard of Ministry and wow, they blew my socks up! Definitely putting this on the kettlebell workout song list :O)


  5. I am with Mark. I hate Christmas music but I do like Caddy Shack. Which is nice.

  6. rabidrunner Says:

    I just realized I’m in a Ministry Mood. Thank you for helping me name my mood.

  7. Derron Says:

    You’re giving me some massive ski envy. Look at the size of those planks! The snow looks great too. Hopefully some day I’ll have such a nice set-up.

  8. WheelDancer Says:

    Good snow is too rare here in MN as well though we are having a pretty good year for cross-country skiing. We are always missing the mountains though😦

  9. Jonnie J Says:

    Dug – I thought we were better friends than this?

  10. g Says:

    Shudder…”Christmas” music.


Leave a Reply

