gay mystery men

February 16, 2010

Okay, is it just me, or is watching the men’s figure skating (yeah, I watch) kind of like watching a gay (not that there’s anything wrong with that) version of Mystery Men?

I leave it to someone with more talent and patience than I have (Bob) to create a super hero persona for each competitor.

Except Johnny Weir. I don’t know if this qualifies as a superhero, but he would definitely be Edward Scissorhands. I just want to put him in my purse and take him home with me.

You know. Or something like that.

15 Responses to “gay mystery men”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    Are you sure they’re men? I’d need to see genitals before I’d be convinced. I know about cod pieces.

    Prince Smarming – his super power is striking a pose that causes straight men to become nauseous.

  2. bikemike Says:

    i’m pretty sure there’s a level, or two, beyond gay and it’s called Men’s Figure Skating. It’s hard to describe it much less watch it. Figure skating is what they use for torture when water boarding doesn’t work.

  3. stevenbpt Says:

    I think you insult mens figure skating by comparing it to Mystery Men. Scott Hamilton (I know, I’m old) would be Underdog!

  4. Bob B. Says:

    Sorry, Dug. Can’t help you with the superhero descriptions. When figure skating comes on, I can only think of possible headlines for The Onion, like “Area Figure Skater Holds Out for the Right Girl” or “Former Figure Skater Struggles with Incontinence.”

  5. Road Rash Says:

    Although I am sure that straight figure skaters exists, even us gay guys say “holy crap, that is so gay”.

  6. KanyonKris Says:

    I watched the Chinese pair skate and was impressed by the throws, spins and how they stayed in perfect sync. Kind of a seductive dance, that has some hetero appeal.

    But a lone guy prancing about in a tight spangled suit?

  7. rabidrunner Says:

    Mystery Men is my favorite movie. Of all time. I know that piece of info just revealed too much about me but at least I didn’t out myself as a dude who carries a purse.

  8. bob Says:

    Says a bunch of guys who ride their bikes in spandex, except for Dug……

  9. jb Says:

    Gay or straight it makes me so mad when we get to see all of five guys run the Downhill so NBC can get us back for hours of figure skating. Makes me go surfing for Seinfeld re-runs.

  10. linfin Says:

    “It’s not a purse, it’s called a satchel. Indiana Jones wears one.”


Leave a Reply

