making lemonade

March 3, 2010

We started with four men prepared to risk their livelihoods by ditching work to find some excitement and good snow yesterday afternoon. In the end, Rick bowed out because, well, risking your livelihood for skiing is more an expression than anything, nobody really does that.

And Sam was totally caught up in his profession, which is decidedly icky, and I don’t even want to talk about it here. Let’s just say it involved an 80 year old woman’s private parts. Enough said.

In the end, Rob and I met at White Pine at 2:30 looking for action.

Wait, that didn’t sound right, I didn’t mean to say Rob and I hooked up in a parking lot looking for action.

Anyway. The Pink Pine chute was the goal. The Pink Pine ridge is nice and all, but it was all tracked out, and is so low angle and short that it’s hardly worth the trouble. But if you’re willing to pack up your skis and start booting, the northeast facing upper Pink Pine chute and chutelets are much more interesting. And, conversely, NOT tracked out.

It’s not the Hash Pipe Couloir, but for beaters like us, it’ll do.

Rob carried the camera today.

Climbing Pink Pine Ridge:

dug skinning pink pine ridge

Almost to the booter:

dug skinning ppridge looking up

And booting, apparently with a surface-to-air missile strapped to my back:

booting 3

Rob likes to get fancy with pictures, so we get a black and white shot. It’s so Ansel Adams:

booting black and white

At the top (or near enough–we aren’t those “it doesn’t count unless you wear ’em from the top” kinds of guys. Like I said–beaters.):

at the top

Since the line was steep and northeastish, with no tracks, and thus a bit suspect, we dropped about five little cornices on it, and did a couple stout ski cuts, with very little movement, just some normal sloughing.

And hittin it:

dug its steep

dug dropping in

Rob tearing it up (sorry, poopy camera picture):

rob cooler shot

rob from above

Let’s see some more of me:

dug top of apron better

dug apron close

I could get used to this. I mean, if this is a BAD year in the Wasatch, then I’m going to go ahead and call Utah a pretty great state.

17 Responses to “making lemonade”

  1. mark Says:

    “risking your livelihood for skiing is more an expression than anything, nobody really does that.”

    Last year I did. But last year was good enough to warrant it. This year, not so much. Glad you had a good time, though.

  2. LeighAnne Says:

    chutelets…really?

  3. Rachel W Says:

    Audrey is over my shoulder saying IAN over & over. 🙂

  4. KanyonKris Says:

    I sleep better know the dawn patrol is out there keeping our powder safe from airborne attack.

    I like the black and white – dug circa 1840.

    Was your life elevated?

  5. Grizzly Adam Says:

    I just want you to know that I am often free for these afternoon “meetings”. I believe you have my number.

  6. mtb w Says:

    Nice beanies.

  7. bikemike Says:

    ok Kris, back me up on this…after visiting Florida, would you not agree that you people live on another planet. Planet Utah, i guess you would hang a left at Jupiter and go about a billion light years and make the right at Jack-In-The-Box.

    Some kind of weird gravity prevents me from leaving this state. Gravity sucks.

    Your attempts at inflicting envy have been successful. I hope you’re pleased.

    • KanyonKris Says:

      Yes, Florida was very different. Pancake flat, pocked with lakes, palm trees, warm.

      I was impressed with how smooth and perfect the roads are. I didn’t see a single pothole.

      In honor of Cape Canaveral: it takes a lot of energy to achieve escape velocity. Maybe someday you’ll make it out of Florida.

      • bikemike Says:

        yep, i probably need to increase my interval training to acheive escape velocity. maybe i’ll just wait for the shuttle program to stop and “borrow” one of their engines.

  8. Michele Says:

    Wait a sec….Tuesday the 2nd….

    • dug Says:

      ha. yes, dr appt from 1-2 ish, but once you’ve achieved escape velocity, well, you’ve gotta take advantage. lower the average cost of escape velocity.

      ya follah?

      • Michele Says:

        I sure do…I was at the dentist that afternoon and then…well let’s just say that having a dentist in Draper is a good thing.


Leave a Reply

