suicide chute (now, fortified with more pics)

March 10, 2010

For all those of you I didn’t call last night about getting out this morning, I apologize. The Suicide Chute only has room for a few sets of tracks. You know the adage, “No friends on a powder day.”

Well, only 4 friends on Suicide Chute day. And one of those friends should include Rick, who sets a hero track like none other:

Mark has some nice pics. Here is an entire passel of pictures from Rob’s fancy camera. Rob doesn’t mess with pictures or blogs during the work day, because he fears the Man, so I only just got these. I can’t choose between them, they’re all my favorite.

Suicide-0533

Suicide-0537

Suicide-0541

Suicide-0549

Suicide-0556

Suicide-0563

Suicide-0571

Suicide-0594

Suicide-0602

Suicide-0605

Mark’s mad (something about me saying he was being a pussy, and that short people ski deeper powder):

Suicide-0607

See?

Suicide-0609

Suicide-0613

Suicide-0617

Suicide-0622

Suicide-0626

Suicide-0627

If you looked at all the pictures, cut out a box top and send it to me, I owe you a dollar.

18 Responses to “suicide chute (now, fortified with more pics)”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    My hand is up waiting for a high five. So, so good this morning (and the skiing wasn’t half bad either).

  2. KanyonKris Says:

    Nice work, gents.

    Looking down that chute gave me the willies. Steeeep.

    So, it was a hero day?

    What did dug say to get a double bird?

    • mark Says:

      Something about how graceful I was stepping down from the cornice (since I was too big a pansy to just ski off it). There may have also been a Johnny Weir reference in there. I don’t remember. He got two just in case he missed the first one.

  3. Aaron Says:

    Fine, but I’m next.

  4. KanyonKris Says:

    Box top in the mail. Fine photos.

  5. mtb w Says:

    Excellent pics – You owe me a buck. OK, this is the wuss in me but that look awfully steep. Without ropes, I’d be concerned about falling.

    Did you go up the same way you went down?

  6. Nate Kingdon Says:

    Looks pretty sweet! I just wanted to make sure you still had my email???

  7. bikemike Says:

    Today, in Florida, it’s mostly green with a chance of some lightly scattered brown. Winds out of the SW by NE. Didn’t much need the skis today. Maybe tomorrow.

    • tohellandback1st Says:

      i don’t think they have much need for skis in utah either, but they look awfully happy that they have them…

  8. Rob Says:

    I stuck it to The Man by showing up late that morning…too many sticks to The Man, and the man starts to pay attention – and that’s not good for anyone.

  9. Grizzly Adam Says:

    Your skis are huge.


  10. […] the recent snowfall, and the convincing potency of a well born powdermony, have me desiderating more of […]

  11. nick Says:

    Nice – Up in WA we have had just enough snow to close the MTB trails, but not enough to get any real skiing in.
    Wish i was down there!


Leave a Reply

