palomar

April 6, 2010

A long time ago, I read a book featuring a character who lived in La Jolla, California. You know how you read stuff but never say it out loud, so you never know that you don’t know how to pronounce it? I mean, I WAS from Minneapolis. It’s not like I was exposed to a lot of Latin languages. Just Swedish, really.

Anyway, a few years after that, during the summer of my freshman year of college, I remember sitting around the pool, while a couple of fat guys played catch with a softball. You know. To get loose for their big softball game. One of the fat guys was telling the other fat guy a hilarious story about some idiot who kept pronouncing La Jolla as if it were an English word.

As in, Lah Jahla. Instead of how it really IS pronounced–La Hoya.

Sitting there, I felt pretty stupid, even though I had never said the word out loud in my life. I don’t think I even knew where La Jolla was.

But. Here we are again. I dragged the family to La Jolla again (well, Pacific Beach, but close enough), third year in a row, thanks to the Leblanc’s hospitality (I’ve ALWAYS known how to pronounce Leblanc). I dragged the family here to distract me from the fact that my bike will be done this weekend, but I won’t have it until at least Monday. Jon left me voicemail this morning, telling me it was done and he was sending it get a nice coat of RAL 2000 (orange).

complete frame

Can’t wait. So, to pass the time here in the La Jolla area, me n Rick n Erol went and rode Palomar again. This time there was no snow, no fog, no rain. Remember last time?

dug-store-palomar-last time

Couldn’t even see the cafe at the top from 20 feet away. This time?

dug dick front of store

That’s better, isn’t it?

What’s that in our hands?

icy coke

Views were good:

dug top two

Palomar is a nice road. I like how they have a rumble strip in the middle, so that you feel like you actually get your lane on the downhill. Up AF Canyon, I feel like I get maybe a third of my lane on the down, because of big trailers crossing the center line or yahoos just cutting corners. On Palomar, nobody did that. Just 13 miles and 4500 feet of smooth goodness.

Erol topping out.

erol top

You know what I didn’t like about the road? These stupid decimal point mile posts. Last year it took me about 4 miles to figure it out. This year I just had this nagging feeling that the signs were weird and it only took me about 2 miles remember the decimal point.

dick top sign

That sign doesn’t say mile post 478. It says mile post forty seven POINT eight. There IS a difference.

I would say something here about not being so dumb, but I’ve already told the La Jolla story.

Okay, I’m going to wrap up with something a bit ewy here. Stop reading and finish strong with the La Jolla joke if you don’t want the ewy thing.

So, at least five times on the hour and half climb, I was absolutely sure that I’d crapped my shorts. As in, from Saturday Night Live, “Oops, I crapped my pants.”

Each time I considered pulling over and checking (which can be a hassle in bib shorts). But each time I decided “well, what are you gonna do? Take off your shorts and ride naked? Nope. So just suffer and check at the top.”

So, at the top, I checked. Whew. False alarm.

It’s the little things.

15 Responses to “palomar”

  1. Eber Says:

    Jealous. I’ll be running in the snow around Suncrest tomorrow. Boo. Hiss.

  2. D Says:

    From Houston and rode Palomar 1st week of March and it was great then also. Only problem was fighting to pass a couple of school buses on the way down! Where did you start from? Harrah’s for me.
    Thanks.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    The new frame is gorgeous.

    Cool hand dug?

    The false alarm still feels dirty. Why is that?

  4. Aaron Says:

    Totally had the false alarm during RAWROD last year. You can imagine my relief when I realized I didn’t need to ride 50 miles with THAT in my shorts.

  5. Chad Says:

    cause Im wearing them… and I just did.

  6. Jeff Says:

    The false alarm can be scary, I mean what if it soaks into the padding? Will it ever wash out?

    Also, if it makes you feel better I thought to myself “how DO you pronounce La Jolla?” through the first two paragraphs. Of course I’ve embarassed myself with Pennsylvania city pronounciation (like Schuylkill).

  7. BM Says:

    That explains why I could never find Lu Houghea on the map.

  8. bikemike Says:

    craptastic story.

  9. Nick A Says:

    Sarah and I are in La Jolla right now – sorry to have missed you and the crew.

    Bike looks super cool – congrats.

  10. prodigalcyclist Says:

    Love it! Amazing how after one’s first shart, every subsequent sweaty-ass’d release becomes an imagined disaster.

  11. mark Says:

    Is Erol wearing a helmet? I can’t tell.

  12. VA Biker Says:

    I thought I was geezin’…

    I once did one of those 10,000’+ of climbing in 103 miles century ride events in the eastern US. Worst part of the entire ride was at about mile 99, working near the top of the final climb. I was toast. The flipping road construction crew had marked the road in 1/100ths of miles. My God, it was devastating to figure that out. Tick, tick, tick.

  13. BotchedExperiment Says:

    Having Jon put seat stays on your bike was a good choice. Without them, the bike would be vertically compliant, but not laterally rigid.

    • jruss Says:

      botched – amazing. I always have to slow down and make sure that I am getting that phrase in the right order. Carbon is magical, compliant and rigid at the very same time. wowsers. I wonder if you can get it with a remote lockout.

  14. JB Says:

    If someday you really do crap your pants, I don’t want to know. Remind me how you got Kim to fall in love with you?


Leave a Reply

