will it hold?

April 8, 2010

After my third unsuccessful attempt to twist and tear the necessary toilet paper off of the roll at work today, I decided to conduct a little experiment. Kind of like “will it blend.” But different.

I’ve done some twisting and pulling trying to get my fair share:

tp one

So, I decided to see what the tensile strength was, exactly. More or less exactly. I mean, it’s not like I had a tensile strength measurer ON me or anything.

So I made do:

tp two

From the other side:

tp three

Next I was going to swing from the TP line myself.

But someone came in. So I didn’t.

7 Responses to “will it hold?”

  1. Jenn Says:

    I’d like video of the first time you use this stuff to rappel down the side of the building on a Friday afternoon to escape to the trails; a la Spiderman, with a cycling jones.

  2. bikemike Says:

    unless you weigh slightly less than the plunger, and i’m guessing you don’t, that was probably a wise decision. me, i would’ve done it.

  3. Six Says:

    You handled 2 plungers!? Double the chances of touching something that came out of someone else. I’d let the building flood, killing thousands before I picked up even 1 plunger not in my bathroom.

  4. BM Says:

    Can’t wait to see the results of the finger pressure puncture threshold test.

  5. KanyonKris Says:

    Your tensile strength test cracked me. If only you had snapped a shot of the person walking – to see his expression. Props to your demonstrated commitment to the scientific method.

    Those unperforated mega-rolls are the worst. Did the manufacturer save like $.00001 by not adding the perforations? Devo was right, we are devolving.


Leave a Reply

