so close

April 10, 2010

So close. So very very close.

I apologize if you’re getting sick of my obsessing over this, but I haven’t bought a brand new mountain bike in like 7 years. The last new mountain bike I bought was a Cannondale Gemini free ride bike, with 6 inches of travel, and it weighed 35 lbs. I rode that thing everywhere. Loved it.

And then I went straight to a rigid singlespeed, which I’ve been on ever since. Not one rigid single, I guess–I bummed a WaltWorks frame off of Brad. Then I bummed a Surly Karate Monkey frame off of Brad. Then I scored a Jamis singlespeed frame off of Tracy. Then I went back to the Karate Monkey. Then I bummed a Gary Fisher Rig frame off of Rick. Then that frame broke, but Racer got them to warranty it, and I’ve been riding the newish replacement Rig frame.

And now? Now this very Sabrosa orange number:

full

head badge

Back from the powdercoaters a few hours ago.

DSC_0004

bb

dropouts

After not riding dirt since November, I’ve been out in Corner Canyon the last three days. I don’t want to embarrass Orange by not being in riding shape. (3 days should do it, right?)

Frame arrives at Racer’s Monday. You hear that Racer? I’ll be down. We’ll talk.

18 Responses to “so close”

  1. Nate Kingdon Says:

    Damn! That there is a thing of beauty! The last photo is my favorite. Attention to detail. Pure beauty!

  2. KanyonKris Says:

    It looks so good I could lick it. The powder coater added the orange-sicle flavoring, right?

  3. brkeyes7 Says:

    So. Not. Worthy.

  4. eber Says:

    i’m all giddy with excitement and it isn’t even my bike. you allowing test rides?

  5. fish Says:

    And for some even better news, it rides even better than it looks. Seriously. I was overwhelmed by how awesome mine looked, but the ride is spot on. I’m jealous.

  6. Jason Says:

    It was great meeting you on Friday’s ride! What a piece of art… Make sure you get Orange’s headset ordeal worked out.

  7. Jonnie J Says:

    So Trick. Jonnie like.

  8. Rick S. Says:

    We’re gonna need to teach you how to clean that thing instead of slamming it on the ground to get the dirt off.

    Sabrosa pulled it off. I didn’t think it would be possible to have it before RAWROD. He is the master.

  9. Kenny Says:

    Wow.. that’s a beautiful thing. I can’t wait to see it down at RAWROD. What are you putting on it?

  10. bikemike Says:

    a new (custom) bike is better tha se…uhmm, chocolate cake, key lime pie and swedish apple crisp.

    eber said it, you must be giddy…musn’t you?

  11. Brandon Says:

    Looks Amazing. I wonder how it will bike derby as we wait in the parking lot before rides?

  12. evilbanks Says:

    sweet mother of all sweetness!

  13. tibiker Says:

    beautiful finish on that bike, it’s gonna make the inevitable first scratch/ding hurt you even more. It’s ok, real men cry, honest….it’s ok.

  14. Ryan Says:

    Very purdy he does great work. Enjoy


Leave a Reply

