april is the cruelest month

April 13, 2010

Okay, last post on the build, I promise, but I’ve never had a custom bike built before, so forgive me if I’m a bit giddy. It’s not every day you receive magic beans from Sabrosa Cycles.

Well, giddy and very very frustrated. More on that in a minute.

Jon’s parents drove the frame up from St. George and dropped it at Racers. His folks probably had other business up here, but I like to think they made the trip for me.

So I took the old Rig (okay, it’s 6 months old, but still) on some very nice (and steep as hell) new singletrack in Provo with Rick, Kenny, and the Orem lunch gang, who kindly waited for me every 100 yards or so. And then I took it to a car wash, powerwashed it (maybe the only time it’s ever been cleaned), picked up some pizza for the shop, and went to spend the afternoon with Racer while he made art functional.

orange racer one

It’s like an Imaginarium in there. Or something like that.

orange racer two

Kenny joined in the action.

orange kenny

Racer working his brake magic:

orange racer three

Racer is like Tim Taylor’s neighbor–you don’t get to see his whole face.

And here’s the bike in my garage–putting it in the house just seemed excessive:

orange garage

I would have taken a nice shot of it next to a bush or something in my yard, but nature intervened.

Here’s my driveway this morning. April is the cruelest month.

orange driveway up

19 Responses to “april is the cruelest month”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    oh man….such a nice looking bike. Congrats. Maybe now you’ll put your skis away.

  2. Aaron Says:

    Sweet sabrosaness. Come on dusk patrol tonight. You can bring your bike if you want, but the climb might be a little difficult since it’s bad form to ride your bike in the skin track.

  3. Brandon Says:

    I bet it rides as good as it looks. Bring it down to the UC again. We do have trails that are less steep.

  4. bikemike Says:

    ahh, but the anticipation must be fabulous?

  5. Liz Says:

    Congratulations! Is it a boy or a girl? Orange in kinda gender neutral.

  6. mark Says:

    April is the best month. Because when the skiing’s good, it’s really good. And when the skiing’s not good, the bike riding is. Magic beans for the magic season. Embrace it*.

    *In the spirit of full disclosure, my mountain bike is currently hanging in the repair stand in need of some TLC before it can be ridden, so skis and road bike are all I got at the moment. Not that I’m complaining.

  7. KanyonKris Says:

    No need to apologize, I’m digging the new bike episodes.

    This snow is dangerous to your new baby. It needs dirt, stat. Kind of like spanking a newborn’s bottom.

  8. Derron Says:

    Sweet bike! I love the color and Sabrosa definitely looks like magic beans–you’ll soon know if it rides like them. But seriously, pink grips? What, you couldn’t find orange grips? Big fashion faux pas.

    • dug Says:

      deron, i love’s me some pink. i had green grips, but they were worn out, and racer didn’t have any more. pink doesn’t really go with orange, but really, i’m not going for total color coordination. full color coordination is a much bigger faux pas than bad color coordination.

  9. northern neighbor Says:

    It’s the CreamCycle!

  10. Steve Says:

    Tough about the weather.

    I’d stick with the pink grips. Green & Orange is the company colors of a big PNW Barge & Environmental cleanup company. The Sabrosa does NOT deserve to be dressed like a barge.

  11. eber Says:

    i’m riding JEM/Rim/Goulds in the morning and Goose on Saturday. I bet you could convince Banks to drive you down. I’d even swap my run on Saturday for Goose if you want to bring it down for the maiden voyage.

  12. Flyin' Ute Says:

    I don’t think it would be excessive to put it in the house. I’d hang that bike on the wall in my office if I had it. It’s sweet!

  13. Miff Says:

    Been lurking your blog a while Dug.
    Sweet bike you had built.
    Very nice.
    Now I wish I could send you over some of our winter weather from Australia….blue skies, 25degs, …….
    http://miffmtb.blogspot.com
    Otherwise you could send on over here and let me test it.
    Miff

  14. kim Says:

    What a perfect way to quote T.S. Eliot. Now you can work on some poetry to remind me you love me more than your bike!

  15. DeLaina Says:

    I was just wondering how Kim liked your new, orange mistress. Now I know.

  16. Six Says:

    So…Leadville??

  17. cubsfarr Says:

    Look to your Minnesota roots, Dug. We ride in snow here. Uncork the whimsy and do what most might not. That’s the core of this blog, right? And think of the stories you could tell. Inspiration, imagination, experience, art.


Leave a Reply

