rawrod 2010

April 27, 2010

Kenny’s RAWROD event is generally my favorite ride of the year. It’s a rolling party, if by rolling, you mean 100 miles of jeep road in Canyonlands National Park, and by party, you mean dragging your ass into the lunch spot, barely alive and hoping the truck shows up soon with your ice-cold Starbuck’s Double Shot Espresso can.

Which is, in fact, what I mean by both of those things.

A bunch of really fast guys opted to ride Fast Friday this year, which means they rode unsupported in a race all day Friday. I choose to pretend that Fast Friday didn’t happen. I hereby banish Fast Friday. Fast Friday is silly. In fact, why am I capitalizing it? I don’t know.

First stop was Musselman Arch, which, being inside the first 30 miles, falls into what in a marathon they call the “stupid miles.” The miles where everyone is all smiley and stuff:

dug musselman arch

I like this picture because either my pants are really low or I have a freakishly long torso. I’m good with either option. And, apparently, I look fat in this picture.

Also, Rich gave me an ice cold Diet Coke.

We met for lunch at the infamous Vertigo Void. I like Vertigo Void, I’ve been stopping here every year for almost 20 years. We go way back, Vertigo Void and me.

I didn’t take a single picture this year (above picture borrowed from Kris–I will return it when I’m done with it).

But here’s the result of carrying my Flip video camera around for 12 hours. Enjoy. I know I did.

23 Responses to “rawrod 2010”

  1. mark Says:

    Does Riessen ever wear a shirt?


  2. Cool video man—–thanks for not posting too much evidence of me pushing my bike up horsethief.


  3. also………..OZZY!

  4. Steve Says:

    at risk of expressing an opposing view I am thinking you look rather anorexic. Not sure I spelled that right and don’t care enough to look it up. WordPress should have spell checking automatic.

  5. Brandon Says:

    Nice Video. Wish I would have had more energy after Fast Friday to stick around and ride the RAWROD. Looks like you had good times.

  6. eber Says:

    all of us seeking shade from the port-o-john – that is a memory i will cherish forever.

    • Jason Says:

      Agreed – rationing what food/drink we had left, Banks sitting in the red ants, and 3 or 4 attempts by people to get rolling again, only to be convinced they were not thinking clearly for being in a hurry to leave the outhouse shade and sit at the top of hardscrabble to wait for the water…

    • KanyonKris Says:

      Agreed, we shared a bond of brotherhood there.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    The pic of you with a “freakishly long torso” made
    me bust out laughing!! Am still laughing!! Thanks,
    I needed a good laugh!
    I enjoyed the video too; what a great time you guys
    had together (all 100 miles)!

  8. Jason Says:

    Your bike is sweet… And true to form, your antics, ribbing, and stories were key elements of the fun factor.

  9. mtb w Says:

    Nice vid – my head starting spinning with vertigo looking over/under the edge. Good choice on Ozzy.

    And, dude, stop sucking in your gut for pics!

  10. Flyin' Ute Says:

    Bro.
    I’m with you on fast fast friday (lower case). All the cool fast guys can show up on Saturday and ride away from us…..if they can.

    They can self support and not stop, but to go on a different day is lame. If they were that strong of a riders then they would be like Kenny.

    That’s right I’m calling all you fast friday (lower case) guys out.

  11. Rick S. Says:

    Mike- I think riding on Sat ahead of the group would be more of a dick move than riding Fast Friday. For me, Rawrod is as much about the camping and brats with the group than the ride.

  12. Eric Says:

    Ah, the rarely seen and critically endangered Gangsta Bike Short.
    Marlin Perkins theorized about the existence of the GBS but I don’t believe even he ever saw an actual specimen. It may be a first for all of us. I am stricken with awe and a little disgust. Who knew GBS’ decorated themselves with brown belts? Truly, a creature that Evolution seems to have forgotten.
    I’m moved to tears. Sniff.

    • dug Says:

      eric, yeah, my search for the GBS took me all over the southern utah desert. i’m not sure mutual of omaha ever made it here.

      that brown belt almost made me abandon my GBS, and i still have a pretty visible red spot right above my man parts. but i held true and suffered through, like a gangsta should.

  13. KanyonKris Says:

    You’re just too cool with those low-ride shorts.

    I can’t accept return of the photo – it’s been flagged.

    I saw you with the Flip a few times and was unsure what you’d put together – well done! Metal works.

  14. mtb w Says:

    Nice way to really break in the Orangecycle. Looks like it passed the hard test in flying colors.

  15. Jaynann Says:

    Love the video! It makes me jealous and sick to my stomach at the same time.

  16. andy Says:

    you know what would have made that ride better? gears! =)

  17. Flyin' Ute Says:

    Rick,

    Nice call. I was glad you stuck around to chat Friday night. I think you are right about the Brats! It’s a fun event to see everyone and have a rolling party like Dug talks about.

    I don’t think it would be a bad thing for the fast guys to ride off the front. Maybe that’s just me though. I know everyone has there schedules to accomodate but to plan a different date takes away from the party.

    I guess I just like seeing everyone there and I really look forward to it.


Leave a Reply

