over-thinking

May 10, 2010

Okay, of course, you know how Oedipus runs from his fate, only to run right into his fate? Remember that?

I did that recently. Sort of.

Heading for the bathroom at work, I saw another guy coming down an adjacent aisle, obviously headed toward the bathroom. I quickened the pace, and since he was a good 20 years older than me, I was first to the door.

But I had a pang of conscience when I entered, partly because, as I’m sure you remember from previous pictures, our configuration is:

Sink  Urinal  Small Stall  Big Stall

So someone was in the big stall, leaving the small stall and the urinal (and, I guess, the sink). And I thought, “I shouldn’t have out-sprinted that guy to the bathroom, bad form, I’ll give him the urinal, nobody really wants to use the small stall, I’ll take the small stall, no big deal, and by the way, How ’bout me? I’m a great guy, right?”

Or something like that.

But as I entered the small stall, he came into the bathroom, took one look, and did an instant U-Turn. Clearly he didn’t need the urinal, he needed a stall. Which, somehow, I hadn’t considered.

Whoops.

I guess I over-thought that one.

9 Responses to “over-thinking”

  1. Linfin Says:

    Maybe your habit of taking pictures or setting up experiments in the bathroom is getting around the building.

    • dug Says:

      you know, that is a very good point, one i hadn’t considered. just the other day a guy stopped me in smiths marketplace, introduced himself, and asked me if i was there to take pictures of stupid signs.

      hmm. my cover is blown. maybe this internet isn’t so wonderful.

    • KanyonKris Says:

      You’re running into fate all over the place.

      I hope the Smith’s guy was a fan and not store security or management. I wonder if they have a poster of you in the back office, among the writers of bad checks.

  2. mark Says:

    Worst moment ever was when I walked out of the big stall at work (small stall remained empty) and saw the guy sitting there in his wheelchair waiting for me to be done.

    I still think of that every time I use the big stall (which is every time it’s available). Because I’m not running from my fate. If it’s gonna get me, it’s gonna get me. I just hope my fate is not the black smoke monster.

  3. Jonnie J Says:

    Don’t pretend like you didn’t recognize me in Smiths.

  4. bikemike Says:

    there is no think, only do.

  5. Jeff Says:

    Perhaps you should have just taken a lesson from Ayn Rand and by using the bathroom selfishly (the urinal) you would have benefitted your fellow man.

  6. Sara-no-h's mate Says:

    hmmm, perhaps you need some remedial training in bathroom etiquette. I highly suggest you test your current skill level at:
    http://gamescene.com/The_Urinal_Game.html

    If you don’t pass the test, then I strongly urge you to get the advanced training at:


Leave a Reply

