foist

May 18, 2010

How is it possible that the word “Moist” is so completely icky and largely useless (except as a way to creep people out), whereas its rhyming twin word is so totally cool?

Foist.

Moist is creepy. Foist is awesome.

Foist fairly quivers with possibilities. Foist makes you sound like you’ve got an evil plan. Or maybe just a mildly disreputable plan. It’s got ne-er-do-well written all over it. But in a good way.

Of course, Moist is an adjective, and Foist is a verb, so it’s not really a fair fight. But still.

I’m just sayin.

18 Responses to “foist”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    moist, moist, moist, moist, moist

  2. bikemike Says:

    Isn’t “Foist” an Italian cycling team?

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    I agree. Moist sounds icky, so I guess it’s a good fit (some moist things are icky).

    Foist sounds almost noble, like Robin Hood. And it has action, I can almost see the foisting when I hear the word.

  4. Steve Says:

    Moist as in cake isn’t icky,
    Moist as in lips is seductive,
    Hoist as in beer is better

  5. KanyonKris Says:

    Foist will now be my F-word euphemism, instead of fetch, flip, etc.

  6. Rob Says:

    He took Foist in the last race…no I think it’s an adjective.

  7. andy Says:

    Moist is just icky to all the girls who are uncomfortable with their vaginas and any adjectives that apply. I don’t like the word because it reminds me of the humid south. I hate the deep south.


  8. file this one under “wtf?”

  9. Greg Says:

    Haha yes, my wife hates the word “moist” for some reason. Maybe this is it!

  10. J A Ruppert Says:

    I’ve hated the “M” word since I was a child. Makes me gag thinking about it…and I’m a guy who finds puking VERY funny.

  11. Anonymous Says:

    Ha ha, Andy said exactly what I was thinking, and because the word typically attaches to such a pleasant place, I like it. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmoist.

  12. rookieroadracer Says:

    What’s wrong with moist?

  13. Eric Says:

    That’s just petarded.

    Don’t groan Dug. You knew someone was gonna say it.

  14. mtb w Says:

    moist, foist? Let’s not forget their cousins: joist and hoist.


Leave a Reply

