run away

May 20, 2010

I used to watch a fair bit of TV when I was a kid. It was easier in those days, cuz you would just turn the TV on, sit in a chair, and watch whatever was on. Too much work to get up and change the channel. The perfect vegetative state.

I can’t shake the image of a particular Saturday afternoon thriller/monster movie. I have no idea what it’s called, who was in it, pretty much nothing about it, except that there were a bunch of people, grad student types, trapped in some office building at night, and there was a monster who, I swear, was made of paper mache. Or just paper.

It’s possible it was a mummy. But I don’t think so. But I can see how you would assume it was a mummy.

My entire life, I’ve thought (not actively, mind you, but sometimes it just pops into my mind, kind of like Camp Waconga) of him/her/it as Paper Man. So I’m going to stick with Paper Man instead of Mummy Man. Or just Mummy.

I remember toward the end of this crazy movie, one of the victims, she was running, and somehow got stuck in an elevator and got squished in the doors. Back then that was a CRAZY way to die. Of course, now that I’m old, I’ve seen hundreds of ways to die in an elevator. But this was my first. So it was memorable.

Anyway.

He’s back.

dummy two

Run away. But avoid the elevator.

Okay, these take some of the creepiness away, but Rick S. wanted more:

dummy three

Actually, maybe it adds to the creepiness.

See, I’ve domesticated him. Now he makes copies.

dummy four

And now, he’s made himself (or herself) right at home:

dummy five

dummy six

We’ve put him/her to work. Does this violate any child labor laws you think?

dummy seven

18 Responses to “run away”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    We’re going to need to know if it’s a he or a she. Can you please take another pic and re-post?

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Wow. Your work is way more interesting than mine.

  3. Steve The BigRide Says:

    Pull the string in the back and see what Paperman says

  4. Rachel Says:

    He’d be way creepier in lycra.

  5. GrizzlyAdam Says:

    Why? Why! WHY!!

  6. Rose Says:

    I think s/he’s got a nice tush.

  7. Derron Says:

    Man your office is drab. Does it have any colors besides tan/taupe?

  8. bikemike Says:

    Kabluey

  9. mtb w Says:

    Mmmm, moist chocolate cake!

  10. KanyonKris Says:

    Oh, 2 new photos.

    Unlike humans, smoking could cause immediate and fiery death for Paper Man.

    Every part of Paper Man is misshapen and disproportionate, except the bum. All the more creepy.

  11. Linfin Says:

    Is that your nameplate that says DOUG Anderson? If it is, is that the legal spelling? Do you use DUG as a way to give your name some character or set yourself apart, like the way some people dot their i’s with hearts?


Leave a Reply

