little hamlet

June 24, 2010

I love that my kids read and quote Shakespeare.

How do I know they do? Well, I’ll tell you. (He’s going to tell, he’s going to tell . . .)

The other day, Ian and I were throwing the football in the backyard. Not sure how it happened, but at one point, Ian was jumping on the trampoline while I threw him the football. And we had the following dialog:

Ian: Our trampoline is worn out.

Me: No it isn’t.

Ian: Yes it is.

Me: No it isn’t.

[We went on like this for a while, so I’ll skip a bit.]

Me: So it seems like the tramp isn’t dropping as far or throwing you as high?

Ian: (More than a little agitated): NO! It doesn’t SEEM that way, it IS that way! I’m not making it up!

Me: Hey! That’s what Hamlet says to Gertrude, his mother, when she says he seems kind of blue. How did you know that?

Okay, it’s possible that it’s just a coincidence. But I’ve started calling him Hamlet anyway. He’ll get used to it.

12 Responses to “little hamlet”

  1. mark Says:

    Is the trampoline worn out, or has Ian gained weight?

  2. KanyonKris Says:

    Now is the Summer of our discontent, ha ha.

  3. Cor Says:

    Who you callin’ a tramp!!

  4. Rachel Says:

    Unfortunately, my kids can’t quote Hamlet, or any Shakespeare, but they would get your reference to The Holy Grail. Which is more important?

  5. BM Says:

    The slings and arrows of outrageous children.

  6. bikemike Says:

    of mice and tramps

  7. Jeff Says:

    More importantly, how do you know that?

    Or is that one of those things that everybody is supposed to know, but I don’t?

  8. JB Says:

    Maybe if he was a Rhodes Scholar he’d be quoting Shakespeare, but you didn’t want that.

  9. GrizzlyAdam Says:

    Something happened on our Brad send off ride that made me think of a Mid Summer Night’s Dream. But i don’t remember what it was. ha ha.

  10. Steve The BigRide Says:

    It was a choice of spears when I was a kid, Shake or fishing. I chose fishing. I can really hold my breathe


Leave a Reply

