new member of the family

July 16, 2010

So we got a dog. Since we’ve successfully raised our kids and no longer have to worry about them, we needed a new challenge.

We’ve been talking dog for months. Months and months. Holden wanted a Great Dane. We kind of went the other way:

phoebe close

I know what you’re thinking–“THAT’S not a Great Dane!”

That’s technically true.

But by the same token, it’s STILL a dog, right? Barely?

phoebe far

Meet Phoebe. Or Zoey. Or Lola. We haven’t decided. She’s a puggle. Which is a dog that doesn’t have magical powers.

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.

No, no. Of course, a puggle is a cross between a beagle and a pug. So if you don’t like beagles or pugs, well, this dog isn’t for you.

We’ve had her for two days now. The first night went really well, no accidents, no whining, she just slept. (The second night went like that too, but I don’t have a story about it, so I’m just telling you about the first night.)

However, the morning AFTER the first night, I got up at 5:30 to go ride up American Fork Canyon with Karl, and so I got the puppy out of her crate in Holden’s room to take her out back to “do her business.” She danced straight over to the same spot she did her business several times the day before, proudly peed, and then came back to cuddle.

So I took her inside and set her down while I got my bike stuff together. After a minute I realized I hadn’t heard or seen her for a bit, so I called her and went looking. She was on the other side of the kitchen table. Squatting. And pooing.

Yay.

I clapped loudly to make her sphincter seize up, and took her outside to finish, and gave her a little doggie treat when she was done. We came back in, and I went to get some paper towels and stuff (hardwood floors) to clean it up. As I went back over to the scene of the crime, I realized I hadn’t turned on the lights. I realized this just as I stepped full weight on a big pile of crap (the pile was about as big as her head–she had eaten like two tiny bites of dog food the day before–where did it come from?).

You haven’t lived until fresh dog crap squishes up between your bare toes on your kitchen floor.

But. But. But she’s so dang cute. If one of my kids had crapped there and I had stepped in it . . . okay, I’m not sure where I’m going with this counter-factual, but you get the point, right?

But when the new puggle does it? I mean, just look at her:

phoebe kims lap

Let’s just say she got away with it.

29 Responses to “new member of the family”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    “Since we’ve successfully raised our kids and no longer have to worry about them”

    Bwahahaha!

    Uh-hum.

    Oh, yes, you’re totally out of the woods now.

  2. Liz Says:

    AWWWWWWWWWWWWE! So cute!

  3. Paige Says:

    Cutest puppy! I’ve been wanting a puppy for a long time and now those pictures just made it worse.

  4. tohellandback1st Says:

    very cute puppy. give it to Paige…

  5. brkeyes7 Says:

    I’m speechless

  6. BM Says:

    Did you have to spell-check ‘sphincter’ or did you just know? Maybe I buy the wrong magazines, but I don’t think I’ve seen the word in print before.

    And didn’t the lights come on automatically when you clapped to induce the sphinctoral contraction?

  7. jennebelle Says:

    Puppies are so much fun, well, most of the time. Our newest is a Great Pyrenees and she just turned 6 months. When we first brought her home she slept really well the first two nights and then for 3 months after I was up at least 3 times a night to let her out. So now she lives outside. Her poops are bigger then your whole puppy :o)

  8. HeidiR Says:

    Awwww, what a cutie! She looks like a Phoebe to me…

  9. lifein360 Says:

    Where is she going to fit on your bike?

  10. rabidrunner Says:

    Dog people are the best kind of people. (So I suppose you are among the best kind of people now.)

    She looks like a Patsy to me, you know, like Patsy Cline. No one’s naming their dogs Patsy these days. Do you have a dog door? You really need a dog door. We just got a dog door and it has opened up “a whole new world” for our precious pound hound. Yes, “whole new world.” Complete with princess and magic carpet.

  11. VaLene Says:

    She looks like a Littlest Pet Shop toy. Very cute. That clapping loud thing never did work for our dog. My dog barfed in my bedroom yesterday. Good luck!

  12. Jenn Says:

    She is beautiful! Congratulations!!

  13. ffsb Says:

    A beautiful girl! We have 4 beagles and a pug. Life is good with a dog.

  14. Bebe Says:

    Welcome to the land of the Beagle Mix. We rescued Lola from a return trip to the shelter. She’s a Beagle-Aussie Shepherd mix. Get ready to have the chewing commence!

  15. Rick S. Says:

    Good thing your backyard is so huge. She will need all that space.

    My kids won’t stop talking about her. Thanks….thanks a lot.

  16. Mr. Puggle® Says:

    Hey New Puggle! Welcome to the world. Join the puggle posse sometime! http://www.mrpuggle.com click blog!

  17. linfin Says:

    Too cute. Picture #1 is the definition of puppy-dog eyes, so how could you get mad at her? Will you soon have more photos of her than of your human children? And will you admit when you speak in that gooey baby-talk voice to her?

  18. bikemike Says:

    whew, as i was scrolling down and reading the part about dog poo between the toes, i thought that’s what the next picture was going to be. it wasn’t. thank you.

    how long does cuteness give a poo pass?

  19. Anonymous Says:

    What a beautiful dog! I am jealous!

  20. 1972roses Says:

    Puggle… hahahahahah

  21. Steve Says:

    SUCKER!!

  22. Kt Says:

    Aww, what a cutie. She looks like a Phoebe, but here’s the thing to think about when choosing a dog’s name: What do you want the neighbors to hear you yelling out your back door? And, does your chosen name make for good nicknames?

    My dog was once little and cute and fluffy like that. For about a month. Then he turned into a teenager.

    He’s still cute, at 11, and less of a teenager, which is good. But he’s starting to have some senior dog moments. Which is another thing to think of: Dogs go from babies to old farts (emphasis on that) so fast.

    Anyway. +1 on the dog door recommendation. And chip your dog, trust me on this one.


Leave a Reply

