visiting the sick and afflicted

July 19, 2010

Me n the family went to visit some of the neighborhood invalids Saturday morning, so we could feel good about ourselves, partly because we’re such nice people, and partly so we could think “At least I don’t have it as bad as THAT poor bastard.”

We made a stop at the Sunderlage home:

rick bed solo

See what I mean?

Here he is trying to figure out how the hell he’s going to pee:

rick bed pee

That can’t have ended well. Trust me when I tell you we got ourselves out of there before he started using that thing.

Shelle even set up a viewing area, where locals could watch the puppy therapy going on:

rick bed spectators

I’m pretty sure we helped. We’ll be sure and pop in once a month or so.

Where have I seen something like that chair/room setup before? I swear I’ve seen those chairs somewhere . . .

chairs-occupied_thumb

Yup, that’s it.

16 Responses to “visiting the sick and afflicted”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    I had just polished off a 44oz and that bed urinal is only set up to contain 32oz. I’m no math wizard but that just seems wrong.

  2. Steve Says:

    Get well soon Rick!! Maybe that puppy can help you fill up your bottle. If I ever get hurt again (when) I am not calling Dug. You should fling a full version of that urinal at Dug next time he comes over for “sharing” your plight with the world.

    Did you have a hip replacement?

  3. Brandon Says:

    Rick, what would you do without Dug?

  4. bikemike Says:

    Dug, with friends like you, who needs anemones?

    It it would also appear that if you could get Rick into some sort of trebuchet, he could fly with those wings he’s got tucked between his legs.

  5. KanyonKris Says:

    Dug, your comical writing made me laugh at Rick’s affliction. Now I have guilt.

    That flying V foam wedge thing is funky.

    I’ve been deluded to think this was fairly minor and Rick wasn’t bed ridden. Dang, hope you get on your feet soon, Rick. And perhaps you should that cycling picture off the wall until this is over.

  6. KanyonKris Says:

    dug: “I am your number one fan.”

  7. Steve The BigRide Says:

    Who gave him the really short crutches?

    • Rick S. Says:

      Steve- my 8 yr old son felt bad for me and picked up a pair of small crutches so he could be like hid dad.

  8. linfin Says:

    That looks painful. I don’t know what happened to him, but that getup reminds me of “Misery”. Hope his wife is a patient woman, and hide any cockadoodie sledgehammers.

  9. tibiker Says:

    I had tears streaming down my face when I read the post and these comments. Tears of laughter.
    We all feel for you Rick, hope you get better soon. And maybe you should forbid anyone with a blog from visiting you / photographing you.


Leave a Reply

