little feathers

July 26, 2010

I’ve been trying to think of what Lance Armstrong’s Black Jersey demonstration reminded me of.

At first I thought it was like the Black Power head-down, raised-fist moment from the 1968 Mexico Olympics.

But that’s giving LA a little too much credit.

Then it hit me. It’s more like Marlan Brando and “Sacheen Littlefeather.”

If one doesn’t like it when actors use the Oscar podium as a bullhorn, one should probably find this a bit distasteful too. Probably.

9 Responses to “little feathers”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    Did you remember seeing that? 1973, you were what, 9 years old?

    Yes, I see the similarities.

    I’m sure Lance et al didn’t know they couldn’t ride with different jerseys (eyes rolling). Do the ends justify the means? I say not in this case.

  2. Tim Says:

    I say we call it what it is: Another case of LA-super-douchebaggery.

    That guy needs to just go away.

  3. bikemike Says:

    i’m torn on this. i’m also not sure if the two french guys that exchanged jerseys were mocking lance when they rode up to him or saluting him in solidarity. i don’t like my attention whoring vague.

    • BM Says:

      So they should all write a letter to the editor instead?

      • BM Says:

        Sorry…that reply was aimed at the OP, not bikemike. I will point out though that like air traffic control, english should be the official international language of symbolism.

      • dug Says:

        i’m not sure letters to the editor are armstrong’s only alternative to hijacking the final stage of the tour de france.

        i have all kinds of causes i’d like to espouse, some of them worthy. maybe he’ll wear a jersey for me.

        • BM Says:

          My comment applies more to the Olympians & Littlefeather than to Lance & Marlon.

          I don’t think Armstrong expected it to blow up the way it did, and if the officials had not objected, the whole story would be one sentence in the last paragraph along with Contadors (UCI approved?) water pistol.

  4. mark Says:

    I was quite pleased to see Lance riding around with his number flapping like a Cat. 5. That part was awesome.

  5. Steve The BigRide Says:

    Pointless pointing sometmes makes bigger issues of lesser ones. Dave Wattle forgot to take his hat off during the medal ceremonies at the 1972(?) Olympic games. Yes I am old. No one noticed until a reporter pointed it out. No one really cared either. Maybe the official made it an issue because no one else did. I smell a conspiracy.


Leave a Reply

