the light side?

August 26, 2010

So I’m wondering about the Force.

I mean, I like it and all (except for the ridiculous Midichlorians, which are just retarded—not literally retarded, that would be silly, and maybe a bit funny, but they are a retarded idea).

But I’m wondering.

If what the bad guys use is called the Dark Side, what do you call the side the good guys use?

The Light Side?

Because that’s very gay. Okay, not literally gay. Not “ambiguously gay duo” gay.

But still. Pretty gay.

27 Responses to “the light side?”

  1. mark Says:

    Your timing couldn’t be better. I’m reading, er, listening to Dan Brown’s “The Lost Symbol” right now. It’s like he took Star Wars and rewrote it from a Masonic conspiracy theorist angle in present-day Washington DC. And he somehow made the dialogue worse.

    Can’t wait to finish it, but not because I’m dying to see how it ends. I’m just dying to have it end.

  2. stevenbpt Says:

    Brother, you have way too much time on your hands. What’s your boss’s phone number.

    And everyone knows the good side of the force is just “the force”.

    • dug Says:

      i would respond to your libel, but i used up 9 of my 10 free minutes today writing the original post.

      dammit, now i’m all out.

    • Darth Lundgren Says:

      Stephen nailed it. Only two options: 1. The Force 2. The Dark Side of the Force. (Post more pics of your bike, I keep an eye out for it -not you, just your bike- every time I ride CC.)

      • dug Says:

        darth, i’m not buying what you’re selling.

        i’ve been in corner canyon 3 times so far this week. i can’t be any brighter–orange bike, white plaid shorts. i’ll try to make more noise.

        • Darth Lundgren Says:

          Dug, Buy it. I will give you this week, I haven’t been riding, but I mean all summer. I really want to see your bike in person, especially since it is orange. However, since we are acquaintances I have left it up to chance rather than some awkward arrangement that usually falls under the umbrella of the legal term “stalking.”

        • Darth Lundgren Says:

          I just heard you ran into some of my riding buddies tonight. I like the paint on that one almost as much as orange.

  3. bikemike Says:

    hershey did the same thing with chocolate, dark and light. now, i’m hungry.

    • bikemike Says:

      that’s some serious nerd-vana right there.

    • Jeff Says:

      I started reading that, then I realized I am not enough of a geek to read it.

      And I think it is called the light side – at least it’s not the “Rainbows-and-Unicorns” side.

    • mark Says:

      So at first, that was just nerdy. Then it became religious. And scary. Because people actually believe it. But then again, there are people who actually believe in Scientology. Which more or less proves my assertion that people are stupid and will believe anything.

  4. Kim Says:

    I’m wondering how it’s going for you trying to stop your kids from refering to something as gay…just asking??

  5. KanyonKris Says:

    Don’t you think George Lucas went through this? The Light Force sounds like it’s reduced fat or something. So it’s just The Force and The Dark Side. Works for me.

    What are the options?

    White Force / Black Force – good opposites but not PC.

    The Force / Anti-Force – if a Jedi Knight gets too close to a Darth they annihilate each other so no cool lightsaber fights, no good.

    Yin Force / Yang Force – I kinda like it, I’ll send a letter to George, he’s made changes to the movies before, what’s one more time?

  6. Jenn Says:

    I hate sci-fi, and as such have only the vaguest notion of what this post is even about. That said, I positively adore the fact that you managed to use ‘gay’ and ‘retarded’ in the most politically incorrect fashion and in the same post. Take my hat off to you, I do, Young Jedi.

  7. Steve The BigRide Says:

    How about Diet-Darkside?
    Coke really started out as an innocent drink and then rebelled by rotting your teeth and diabetes. But Coke gave birth to Diet-Coke who is really good.

  8. Flying Ute Says:

    Steve the Big Ride beat me to my diet coke punchline.

    Dang it.

  9. linfin Says:

    The Bright Side, of course. And there’s a nifty song that goes along with it, if anyone on that side of the force is a Python fan.

  10. Bethany Says:

    The milk chocolate side?


Leave a Reply

