grips

September 14, 2010

Orange is getting some post-P2P love this week, so last night I rode Rick’s Rig around corner canyon for an hour and a half.

Okay, so now I love my Sabrosa Orange even more. If that’s even possible.

I mean, after P2P I heard all these people saying “wow, on a rigid bike, woah” and all that. But I feel sheepish, because really, despite 11.5 hours on a rigid bike up in Park City, I had no hand pain, no arm pain, no back pain.

I had soul pain sure. Brain pain. Stomach pain. But that’s it.

But last night, after riding this Rig around for an hour and a half? Blisters on my palms, pain in my shoulders, ennui in my heart.

Of course, the obvious difference is the grips. This is Rick’s B bike, so of course, he puts on grips that are little more than already-popped bubble wrap. And on Orange, I use Ergon grips. Which I used to think were the geekiest, gayest things I had ever seen (apart from white pants).

But turns out, Ergon grips are like magic ear muffs for rigid singlespeeds. They give your hands and palms a platform for both ascending and descending.

In short, I endorse them.

Also in short, I miss Orange. Come back soon.

29 Responses to “grips”

  1. brkeyes7 Says:

    Imagine if you will 10.5 hours on same said Rig at PCP2P.

  2. stevebpt Says:

    those grips can’t be as gay as designer jeans with embroidered designs on the back pockets!

  3. Flying Ute Says:

    Maybe it’s just my big mitts for hands but Ergon Grips are the best. I can’t even imagine not riding with them.

  4. jruss Says:

    didn’t linde ride rawrod09 in white lycra short pants? just checking.

  5. KanyonKris Says:

    I’ve been a fan of Ergons since my first White Rim.

    How were you convinced to try Ergons instead of the beloved foamies?

  6. Rick S. Says:

    Dear Ergon, please send Dug some additional grips for my “B” bike so when he gives it back, it won’t be lame.

  7. BM Says:

    Winnie the Pooh???

  8. Just Says:

    I love my Ergons…Just like Redbull “They Give You Wings”

    BTW: Nice to meet you last night

  9. Manti Says:

    The gayest thing is that you had to send your bike out to have grips put on it… if you really loved her you would service her yourself.

    • tohellandback1st Says:

      true. i’d most definitely send her out to get serviced…

    • dug Says:

      I guess you’ll have to show me where I said I did that.

      not that I’m afraid to show the gayness. I’m as gay as a jaybird. as they say (I’ll do anything for gay, but I won’t do that).

  10. Vh1 Says:

    Nice job meatloaf! Easy on the white pants smack, Errol is going to kick your ass.


  11. “ennui in my heart”-ha! I’m still chuckling over that little gem.

  12. bikemike Says:

    Two new band names…”Already-Popped Bubble Wrap” and
    “The Magic Ear Muffs”.

    Dug, are you going to Interbike with Elden(if he’s going)?

  13. GrizzlyAdam Says:

    I get a lot of “looks” with my Ergon grips. But there is a reason I’ve used nothing but Ergon since 2005.


Leave a Reply

