here’s a question

September 17, 2010

I have a bathroom question floating around in my head.

You know how, in a public (or any I guess) bathroom, you go to wash your hands, and you can’t help but look at the mirror, and if your hair is messed up, or you have something on your face, or crumbs on your shirt, or you collar is twisted, or, you know, whatever, and you try to fix it?

That is, you run your hands through your hair, or fix your collar, or something.

But.

But when someone else comes in to the bathroom, or comes out of a stall, or finishes at the urinal, or whatever, you stop grooming and leave, even if you’re not done fixing your skiwampus hair?

Well, there is a portion of the population that does NOT stop grooming, that keeps fixing the hair, or checking their teeth, or plumb-bobbing their belt and shirt buttons, no matter what.

Here’s my question: Who ARE those people, and how many of them are there?

26 Responses to “here’s a question”

  1. chtrich Says:

    not me

    • dug Says:

      by “not me” are you saying you aren’t one of those people that stays and keeps doing your hair or plumb-bobbing your pants, or are you one of those people who leaves immediately?

  2. linfin Says:

    Is this a guy thing? Women don’t stop fixing their hair, makeup, clothes, etc. At least none that I have ever seen.


  3. I was going to say – the rest of us are women… we aren’t embarrassed to do our hair in public…

  4. UpNorth Says:

    I’m female – and I totally know what you are saying. I always leave.

  5. BM Says:

    As a follower of this blog I find it difficult to believe that you only have one bathroom question floating around in your head.

  6. stevebpt Says:

    Why would one stop? I have just as much right to fix my hair, if I had much, as the next guy or gal. Or adjust anything else. Till everything is just right. For the situation.

  7. dug Says:

    steve, that’s a good question (why would one stop).

    it’s just not MY question.

    by the way, do YOU stop? you didn’t say.

    • stevebpt Says:

      nope, no stopping. Pretty sure anyway. Hasn’t been a question on my mind so now I will have to pay attention. Thanks a lot!

  8. rabidrunner Says:

    Yeah, women don’t stop much. In fact, I’ve been to several Ladies’ rooms where violent elbowing is required to get mirror space. You know, to pick at the teeth, examine the innards of each nostril, or pick at a zit. That routine is always polished off with a quick ass-check to make sure the pants don’t make it look fat. Stll. (Change in light always has a huge impact on the ass looking fat.)

  9. Shel Says:

    The ones that don’t stop are female.

  10. Jenn Says:

    Um. No. I guess in a night club, women will crowd a mirror, but in an office environment, hotel, restaurant…normal places…I’d say the majority stop, as do I. The ones who don’t are the same ones who fix their makeup at the table or otherwise in full view of the world, which is a question I should maybe ponder on my own blog, were I into pondering bathroom philosophy. Fortunately, I have someone who does that for me. Thank you, Dug.

  11. bikemike Says:

    is this a metaphor for republicans and democrats?

  12. lifein360 Says:

    all depends on the bathroom location and esthetics. If the bathroom is sketchy, I am out of there, but if it is nice I may loiter a bit with the mirror.

  13. Jeff Says:

    I’ll continue to fix my hair – if I was actually picking my nose.

  14. Steve The BigRide Says:

    I groom, therefore, I am not joaquin phoenix

  15. Bandit Says:

    I only stop taking pictures of the bathroom for my blog when someone comes in.

  16. Andy in WV Says:

    I quit and leave. Guess I’m so ugly that I would hate for people to think that I 1.)work to be this ugly or 2.) could be uglier.


Leave a Reply

