a mostly excellent ride

October 4, 2010

I think I might have figured out this irony thing. It’s not ten thousand spoons when all you need is a knife.

It’s more like me reading all about concussions in football, worrying about Ian playing football, sending an article about concussions to a friend who’s son is playing football. And then going riding today and knocking myself out.

I snuck out of work a bit early since it had rained early afternoon, and I thought I had a window. But I arrived home in a steady downpour, so Holden and I popped in a movie. But he got bored, and the rain stopped, so I snuck over for a quick Rush/Ghost/Canyon.

Rush was perfect from the rain, and I high-fived myself as I exited the last whoops, but the high speed Pipeline exit to Canyon was a bit slick. As I came into the final bit before turning uphill on Canyon, I slipped on a particularly muddy spot, the wheels went left and my face went right.

Right into the ground. All I remember is the slip, and the ground coming for my face. I have no idea how long I laid there, but when I sat up, my left knee was caked with mud (and a bit of blood oozing out of it), and all the vents on the right side of my helmet were filled in like I was wearing an adobe helmet. And I may have dislocated my right pointer finger.

Oh, and my clear glasses were missing. I never did find them.

Of all the days for the normally well-trafficked corner canyon to be utterly deserted. There was nothing for it but to finish. Up Ghost, down Ghost, and up Canyon.

All in all, an excellent ride. At least the part I can remember.

27 Responses to “a mostly excellent ride”

  1. mark Says:

    You’ll be fine. Fine.

  2. JB Says:

    I’m sure you went to the doctor to make sure everything is ok. That’s what insurance is for, use it.

  3. Tonks Says:

    No pictures?

  4. KanyonKris Says:

    eh, brain cells, who needs ’em.

  5. Jo Says:

    I think there are crash fairies infesting the wasatch front right now- and they’re in a bad mood! Everyone please be careful.

  6. randomhigh Says:

    it’s just a flesh wound, man… walk it off… you know, once you regain consciousness and all

  7. bikemike Says:

    Probably should have popped in a better movie.

  8. BM Says:

    I would have that helmet bronzed. Or at least fired in a kiln.

  9. Mike J Says:

    In football when a player gets knocked out they take his helmet away so he can’t wander out on the field and keep playing. Usually the player is confused and disoriented so he spends the rest of the game looking for his helmet thinking he has misplaced it. Do you know where your helmet is?

  10. Rick S. Says:

    I’m heading out now to go find those glasses. Finders keepers.

  11. Kim Says:

    Guess we don’t have to tell you to… rub some dirt on it and walk it off!

  12. Grizzly Adam Says:

    How do you know other riders did not come by, and think nothing of seeing you asleep in the mud?

  13. Steve The BigRide Says:

    Down the hill, over the ramp, repeat. I missed the part of the instructions that said don’t wipeout and smash your face. Mom was really ticked off when I got home. Mostly because school pictures were the next day. Personally I don’t think I’ve taken a better picture.

  14. KanyonKris Says:

    You were out for more than a few minutes. Today is Wednesday.

  15. orangekathy Says:

    get a new helmet man. Those helmets are single use and it sounds like you used yours! đŸ˜€

  16. Karl Says:

    Forget about the helmet… How is the newly restored bike? Sounds like it is at least dirty again.

  17. eber Says:

    “utterly deserted” except for the one guy who rode by, surveyed the yard sale and made off w/ your glasses.

  18. Derron Says:

    “…I was wearing an adobe helmet.”

    Cool! Adobe has expanded into helmet production? I gotta get me one of those.


Leave a Reply

