is it just me?

October 13, 2010

I have a co-worker, let’s call him “Ben.” Ben said something funny today.

But first, disclaimer, Ben’s great, he’s very smart. And maybe this is only funny to me. In which case, well, I’m sorry to waste your time. Natch.

I have another co-worker, let’s call him “Louie.” Louie interviewed someone for a job today, and the someone was a large black man who spoke with obviously accented English. Not an English accent. That wouldn’t be funny. But obviously accented English.

Okay, obviously accented English isn’t necessarily funny.

But after the guy left, someone said “Where’s he from?”

And “Ben” said “I think his accent sounded like he was from Ghana.”

Is it just me? Maybe it’s just me. Because I have a hard time distinguishing between the heavily accented English from Ghana and the heavily accented English coming from Sierra Leone. Or Togo. Or the Ivory Coast. Or even Burkina Faso.

But then again, I have a bit of a tin ear.

Okay, it’s just me.

9 Responses to “is it just me?”

  1. BM Says:

    “Anyone can spot an lrishman or a Yorkshireman by his brogue, but I can place a man within six miles. I can place ‘im within two miles in London. Sometimes within two streets.”

    ‘enry ‘iggins

  2. KanyonKris Says:

    I say it was funny.

  3. Johanna Says:

    Well, given that Togo, Burkina Faso and Ivory Coast have French as the dominant European language, I can tell the difference between those and Ghana quite easily.

    • dug Says:

      well, if you want to get all weird about it, the official language of ghana is english.

      i’m not sure where i’m going with this.

  4. bikemike Says:

    Did he sound like Lennie from Lock,Stock and 2 Smoking Barrels?

  5. stevebpt Says:

    yup, just you.

  6. Steve The BigRide Says:

    Say this, “I woke up this morning with a bloody nose”.
    Now say it with an British accent.
    This kind of humor cracks me up.

  7. Steve Says:

    What Johanna said.


Leave a Reply

