just another day

November 23, 2010

At 9:51 last night Tyler texted me with “Are we skiing?”

And I texted back with “Should we? I’m trying to find the motivation.”

I get this back: “I’m 50/50. I was looking to you for motivation.”

This is what professionals call Self Defeating Behavior. Because let’s say we get up at 4:45, meet at Little Cottonwood Canyon at 5:30, drive up the canyon, hike for 1-2 hours to the top, decide that the north side is too sketchy to drop in, and ski about a foot of soft dense powder for almost 2,000 feet back to the car.

Let’s just say that.

What, that’s so terrible?

Tyler and I went back and forth with more mealy mouthed wavering before I finally said “Let’s hike. What’s the worst that could happen? It sucks and we go get breakfast together.”

He wrote back with “I was expecting you would say that. I’ve been getting my crap together as we’ve been texting.”

Turns out, that paragraph above, where I describe the worst that could happen (you remember, it was something about getting up early, hiking for an hour or two in high winds, not dropping the north side on account of us being scared, and skiing super fun fast powder back to the car)?

Well, if that’s the worst, then I really, really like where I live. Because that pretty much describes how it went. No pictures because visibility was so bad that I just took my goggles off and squinted (I was totally spotting dimes).

Blizzard warning for tonight. Considerable on the danger rose. But the magic of the Wasatch is, there’s always somewhere to go. Gordan Gekko once said something like “So I make ten million dollars today instead of fifteen million.”

So I’ll ski a foot of powder instead of two feet. Just another day in the Wasatch.

8 Responses to “just another day”

  1. philip Says:

    I hate you.

    Actually turned on air conditioner last night.

  2. mark Says:

    Not to put too fine a point on it, but the worst that could happen is probably more along the lines of not being scared off by the north-facing stuff, skiing it, and getting buried by a slide.

    But the nice thing about being sensible is that having to go out for breakfast really is closer to the worst case scenario.

  3. bart Says:

    The North side is to deep to turn and much shorter. In these conditions why is the South not the objective? Intervals at Brighton were good as well…

  4. Ty Says:

    thank you for editing.

  5. Steve the BigRide Says:

    My bro in-law stopped by yesterday to see what I caught. He wasn’t “up” for the morning trip. “Not very big” was the first thing out of his mouth. “Yep” I replied as the fresh dolphin hit the grill.
    Same as your skiing. “If you don’t go, you don’t know.” This is the quote that I am going to print on my bro in-laws Christmas t-shirt.

  6. bikemike Says:

    today in vero beach, it will be hot with a 30% chance of hot in the afternoon. thanksgiving day will be hotter with lightly scattered heat in the morning followed be more hot as the morning heat wears off.


Leave a Reply

