courage?

December 15, 2010

I’m in the middle of To Kill a Mockingbird right now (the book, not the movie. Okay, you parsing $%#$##@&, it’s the CD of the book, and I’m listening to it—happy?)

Anyway.

I’m in the middle of it. I just passed the part where Mrs. Dubose has died, and Atticus is telling Jem about courage.

“Courage is knowing you’re licked before you start, and starting anyway.”

I’m pretty sure that’s what he said.

So this morning, I got up at 5am to go ski the foot of new snow we got last night. Because to not do it is a sin. To kill a mockingbird is also a sin. See how it’s all coming together?

I got up, got my gear together, opened the garage door, and took a huge gust of wind to the face and stumbled out into a 3 foot snowdrift across my driveway, up against the garage door. I had no time for that. People don’t wait for stragglers when you’re on DAWN PATROL (WOLVERINES!)TM.

In short, I was licked. But, like Mrs. Dubose, I screwed up my courage, pulled out the snowblower, and slew the whales strewn across my driveway. And then I drove right past the Holiday Chevron to make up time. No coke and fritter for you!

I met up with Jamie, Mike, and Nate, we parked illegally (by an hour and a half) across from Albion at Alta, and headed straight up to the ridge, to see what Silver Fork had in store for us.

Okay, I just can’t help this. Whoa whoa whoa, Jamie’s climbing:

jamie climbing

I have no tune for Nate and Mike. But this is how we do it in the Wasatch. No meandering low angle skin tracks for he-men like us:

nate and mike climbing

Jamie’s first to the top:

jamie ridge

Jamie the unicorn (he’s so FLUFFY!):

jamie skiing

Mike, chasing his sluff:

mike skiing

Nate, from a distance (hey, that’s a tune, right?):

nate skiing

More Nate.

nate skiing two

All because I’m reading/listening to To Kill a Mockingbird. Kids, stay in school!

10 Responses to “courage?”

  1. stevebpt Says:

    Some schools make kids read To Kill a Mockingbird!! Shocking, I know. They should probably skip that day and go skiing.

  2. Shelle Says:

    Oh, the fluffiness- there is nothing like it.
    Despicable you.

  3. rabidrunner Says:

    So fer Nate, “FortuNATE Son” – Creedence Clearwater. And for Mike all I could come up with is that Mike TeaVee song from Willy Wonka. You’d think there’d be more songs for Mikes, but no.

  4. Nate Says:

    The tune in my head most of the morning was Rush, Roll the Bones. Very good morning. I hurt, not so much here, or here, but right across here!

  5. Lifein360 Says:

    *yay for referencing Canadian Rock*

  6. bikemike Says:

    courage is eating that 3rd krispy kreme donut when everyone tells you how fat you’re gonna get and you eat it anyway.

    i’ve got a mike you can ride him if you like, he’s got a basket, a bell that rings and things that make him look good. pink floyd/syd barrett

  7. Grizzly Adam Says:

    You didn’t have to put down any rabid dogs did you?

  8. Stephen Says:

    Wait wait. You mustered up some courage and . . . used a snowblower?

  9. Big Boned Says:

    Man, I miss those days!
    I used to have a condo at the base of the canyon. I lived there for about 6 winters in the 90’s, and was a frequently up the canyon well before dawn for the hike/ski you just did.
    I now live in Juarez, Mexico and can’t even go out my front door without worrying about the narco’s. In fact, I’ve been up since 3am because of hearing some commotion outside and not being able to get back to sleep. Would have been early even for a dawn patrol ski run!
    Not a “woe is me” comment, more of a “enjoy it while you can – you never know what the future holds” comment. If I had known some of the turns that were coming I’d have skipped work a couple more times to hit that powder!
    BB


Leave a Reply

