holden samples pink pine

January 15, 2011

My boss keeps telling me that our company website scrolls too much (or rather, requires too much scrolling to see the whole page—if it scrolled by itself, sure, I could see that being a problem). And I keep telling him that scrolling involves rolling the little scroller thingy bobber on the mouse.

That is to say, it’s easy. As easy as clicking, really. Less effort than smiling.

Why do I tell you this? Because I took Holden backcountry skiing yesterday, for his first, er, DAWN PATROL (WOLVERINES!)tm, we used my fancy new Contour HD headcam, downloaded the video, edited it down to a manageable length so that even Brad might sit through the whole thing, and added a soundtrack so that he wouldn’t get bored.

Aye, there’s the rub. The soundtrack. If you add a soundtrack to a video you then post the Youtube, the soundtrack police get you. Because you know how musicians hate having their music listened to on the web, as the soundtrack to someone’s stupid home ski video. (I’m using new editing software, and haven’t taken the trouble to figure out how to upload these new headcam videos to Vimeo yet—when I figure that out, well, problem solved.)

Anyway, me n Holden met Nate, Steve, and Tyler at White Pine up LCC Friday morning and hiked back up to Pink Pine, near where me n Mark n Adam skied the week before.

It was still good. You can see for yourself. Here, I’ll save you the trouble of finding it yourself, I’ll embed it here, even though once you try to watch it, Youtube and their minions will make you click to go watch it on Youtube.

Like they need the traffic.

Luckily, the mouse button is right next to that cool scroller thingy bob. You hardly have to, ahem, raise a finger.

Oh, and as Holden has pointed out to me, I’ve got some dementia coming on. This happened Friday. As in yesterday. As in, not in 2007 (as I labeled the video), but rather in 2011. The lesson? There is no lesson. Stop looking for meaning.

I don’t think I’ll be skiing with Holden and Ian much longer. Mostly because this might be the last year I can keep up with them.

8 Responses to “holden samples pink pine”

  1. Nate Says:

    Holden was the Rockstar! You forgot to mention how Steve is so important that he was taking phone calls on the way up the ridge. You are going to have a hard time keep both Holden and Ian in school. Good luck with that.

  2. Rick S. Says:

    Did Steve forget to remove his skins before dropping in?

    Holden can break trail anytime. I’ll pack some Panda Orange chicken as his reward at the top.

  3. Jenn Says:

    “This video contains content from Sony Music Entertainment. It is not available in your country.” The Germans? They’re onto you, Dug.

  4. evilbanks Says:

    Cool video…..Way to go Holden!

  5. tohellandback1st Says:

    and as Rob taught me, on a mac, you only need two fingers to scroll…

    also, i tried the frozen pf changs orange chicken that you can buy in the grocery store. i thought it was great!

    • dug Says:

      okay, so when you say that, you’re saying that knowing that i included this paragraph in the post, right?

      (I’m using new editing software, and haven’t taken the trouble to figure out how to upload these new headcam videos to Vimeo yet—when I figure that out, well, problem solved.)

  6. Adventure Nell Says:

    Do you know how brutal it is to watch this while sitting at my government issue desk doing my government issue job? The only compensation is that I live in Victoria, Canada where we can bike road, mountain, X-country, year round OUTSIDE!

    Excellent work Holden!


Leave a Reply

