no lafftrack

January 18, 2011

Let me just say, I don’t watch television.

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. (Real laughter, not a lafftrack.)

No, really, I DO watch television, but only public television.

Ha ha ha ha ha ha. (Okay, THAT was a lafftrack.)

Okay, enough kidding around. I watch one night of TV, and that night is Wednesday (not Tuesday), because I love Modern Family.

Modern Family reminds me of Soap, the 70s Billy Crystal star vehicle. (Chirp.)

And last week, while the entire family sat on the couch together in a total Norman Rockwell scene, I realized that one of the reasons I love Modern Family (apart from the fact it’s just plain funny), is that it does not use a lafftrack. No lafftrack means they believe in their product.

I hate lafftracks. Hate them. I also hate live audiences. For example, even though I was a big fan of Friends, my least favorite thing on the show, apart from the last couple of seasons, was when someone would kiss or something, and the audience would go “ooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhh.” I would mute the TV.

But Modern Family? No lafftrack, no live audience. They trust us to get the jokes and laugh appropriately.

To them, I say, thanks. Thanksverymuch.

11 Responses to “no lafftrack”

  1. chtrich Says:

    Modern Family and then The Middle……..quality TV time right there.

  2. bikemike Says:

    cooking channel, alton brown, feasting on asphalt.

  3. rick Says:

    Tuesday??? On this side of the Mississippi River, MF is on Wednesday (and it is on after The Middle, not before)

    Big Bang Theory is in a dead heat with Modern Family, in my opinion, although it is filmed (can you still say that?)with a studio audience.

    • dug Says:

      yes, wednesday. i have my days mixed up. partly because the kids tivo modern family and watch it over and over again, so every day is modern family day at my house.

  4. mark Says:

    The Halloween episode. Oh, how I loved the Halloween episode. We just started watching Modern Family a couple months ago and are picking up some of the reruns thanks to the DVR. We watched the Halloween episode last night, and it hurt in the best possible way (or maybe second best) to laugh that much.

    30 Rock is as funny as Modern Family. Those two shows make me love television. I’ll have to check out Big Bang Theory.

  5. wraps Says:

    No lafftrack on your blog either.

  6. Shelle Says:

    The first comedy I remember without that goofy lafftrack is Scrubs. I remember loving the new approach- like you said…yeah, we get it.

  7. Scott Says:

    Phil “dumb-fee” requires only original laughs.

  8. KanyonKris Says:

    Is there some reason you spelled it lafftrak?

    You’re right, laugh tracks are irritating. Very glad Modern Family doesn’t use them.

    We’ve been watching Modern Family since the premier. Love it. Phil makes the show, Ty Burrell’s comic delivery is outstanding.

    Mark – Watch for the episode “Manny Get Your Gun” to be rebroadcast. They hit that one out of the park. If you have HuluPlus you can watch it now. And yes, 30 Rock is excellent. I like Big Bang Theory, but it’s more hit and miss.


Leave a Reply

