crickets

January 19, 2011

I’ve had my share of run-ins with automatic light switches in public bathrooms.

Okay, to be specific, I’ve had two. First time was many winters ago. It was memorable.

And last week I had to use the flashlight app on my phone here at work.

The bathroom elves replaced our automatic bathroom light switch, and I think they might have shortened the timeout setting.

new bathroom light switch

How do I know? Because this morning I entered the bathroom, and the light was off. No big deal, right?

Except. Except this is what I saw when the automatic light came on:

double shut door

Okay, so, how awkward is this? I mean, if you’re alone in the bathroom, and you overstay your welcome, not a huge deal, right, you either wait for movement from the outside, or you open the door to the stall and wave your arms (although, that route is fraught with danger, as I’ve experienced).

But this. Here we have BOTH stalls occupied, both users getting distracted with their cell phones or magazines. What do you do when the light goes out? Cough politely? Ask your neighbor if they want to, um, Roshambo to see who has to trigger the light?

What I do know is that when I entered, the room was black and deathly quiet.

And nobody spoke or moved while I was in there. So while I was washing my hands, I said to nobody in particular “Well, this is awkward.”

Crickets.

As it should be.

15 Responses to “crickets”

  1. Ben Says:

    And to add to the awkwardness it looks like the individual in the nearest stall is actually doing his business standing. Are his feet not aimed toward the pot?

    Maybe he’s got a UTI that’s slowing the flow… really really slowing the flow.

  2. Steve Says:

    They could have been having a medical emergency and you just left them to their fates!! The least you could have done was to run out of the can and yell for 911, “there are two men passed out in the bathroom with their pants down, someone please help”.

    Something like that.

  3. BM Says:

    No helmet-cam today?

  4. KanyonKris Says:

    Awesome, except for me laughing with bruised ribs. Hurt so good.

    So the building manager figures dignity isn’t worth a few bucks of electricity for the bathroom lights. That’s nice.

  5. KanyonKris Says:

    Wait, why is there a STOP sticker above the switch? What are you supposed to stop for?

  6. eric Says:

    Maybe that was what Senator Craig from Idaho was doing under stall – Roshambo.

  7. stuckinmypedals Says:

    Wow, that is code red awkwardness.

  8. bikemike Says:

    maybe the crickets could’ve hopped around and turned on the lights.

  9. evilbanks Says:

    no laff track needed for this post………that’s straight up funny.

  10. bjchild Says:

    Surely you recognized him by his shoes, right? And who ever uses the stall to take a leak.

  11. Terry Says:

    Cracks me up that one of the commenters calls himself “BM” on a post like this. It was hysterical…I had to share it.

  12. 1972roses Says:

    Um… you might want to look over your shoulder before going into the bathroom the next time.

    …First, Dug comes in and interupts my nap then he takes a picture of it. Just wait until the next time the lights go out when he’s in the bathroom…

  13. Dustin Garza Says:

    magnificent post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  14. Anonymous Says:

    Many motion sensor light switches (especially installed in bathrooms) have a microphone in them. Next time, just yell. Worst case someone enters the bathroom to see what is going on and they turn on the light.


Leave a Reply

