oven bag fail

May 2, 2011

So, I guess a large Ziplock isn’t the same as an actual oven bag.

We were cooking up some pork tenderloins, and the recipe said “oven bag.” Kim had a meeting, and we had no oven bags (In fact, I was left scratching my head over the very concept), but hey, we DID have some large Ziplock freezer bags. So I’m thinking, nice, these are bags made for extreme temperatures, even if I have no idea why I’m putting this food in a plastic bag in the oven.

Hmm.

Once I used some tweezers to get all of the melted plastic off, the tenderloin was delicious.

The jury is still out on plastic bag chemical poisoning. Watch this space.

22 Responses to “oven bag fail”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    I actually, for real, laughed out loud. The photo is perfect. Thanks, I need that.

    Maybe you’ll get a third eye, or eyes in your palms!

  2. bikemike Says:

    really makes you wonder what kind of “plastic” the oven bag is made of and what it does to the food.

    • KanyonKris Says:

      Reynolds bags are made of high temperature nylon. Since I’ve done a lot of work with plastics I can assure you there are many plastics that can handle high temperatures and won’t contaminate your food.

  3. Jenn Says:

    This made me laugh so hard! When I was in college, I tried to cook a pork roast, which Mom told me needed to be covered for part of the cooking time. I followed the rationale that you can put plastic wrap in the microwave, where it gets hot, thus you should also be able to put it in the oven. My results were quite similar to yours. At age 42, I STILL hear about ‘the shrink-wrapped pork roast’ at family gatherings.

  4. Diane in WA Says:

    But how were the carrots? Don’t feel badly. Everyone has those mess ups no one forgets.

  5. VaLene Says:

    Next time, try aluminum foil as a substitute for an oven bag. You can ask Brent about my 1-egg, 2-eggs, or no-eggs brownies. We all goof sometimes. I am surprised you were able to salvage the roast. That was pretty funny.

  6. Jonnie J Says:

    I know you bought those fries at Chik-Fil-A.

  7. Rob Says:

    That’s not enough fries for a family of 5.

  8. JB Says:

    I thought you were a smart guy. This wasn’t very smart!

  9. Sara-no-h Says:

    derp

  10. Rachel Says:

    You’re so honest, it’s painful.

  11. Adventure Nell Says:

    Looks…yummy??? Hope it was edible. Question: when did you start letting ads on your site??

  12. VA Biker Says:

    I read an article in Plastics Today (trade journal) in March, 2011, regarding the creation/generation of estrogenic compounds in/from plastics.

    BPA in polycarbonate is the most well known version of this, but there are many other plastics that have behave similarly, though seemingly not consistently, i.e. – in some parts, not in others.

    The bottom line for me is that unless you’re a fan of feminization of those around you, I think it’s safest to cook in glassware, stainless steel, or cast iron.


Leave a Reply

