days draw in springtime

May 3, 2011

I wish April had only 29 days, because then I could say I skied the super dope pow pow in May.

Alas. April has 30 days. It’s such a cruel month.

Except, not so cruel, since the upper Cottonwoods topped 700 inches for the year last week. And Saturday morning, with Little Cottonwood closed, Days Draw served as Burke’s initiation into the backcountry.

I think he liked it. In fact, for a minute, I thought he was going to explode with happiness. But then I remembered that Burke is intense and happy as Chris Traeger.

Here’s the video. More Tony Scott than Ridley Scott. But sometimes Tony Scott is what you’re looking for, right?

It was pretty good.

Oh, and did you notice Burke’s poles? He told me he’s a mogul skier (turns out he just missed the 2002 Olympic Freestyle team), and had short poles. But he didn’t tell me mogul skiers use lollipop guild poles.

On the other hand, if I’d known, I wouldn’t have done anything differently–too much comedy to pass up.

9 Responses to “days draw in springtime”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    Sweet. And Burke skied it well.

    dug, thanks for taking me up Days for my first time AT skiing. I know I wasn’t very emotive and my write-up was flat, I think I was reeling from the workout. But that faded and the sensations of skiing that extraordinarily soft, deep powder remained. Sorry I was a dull first-timer, but know that it was an outstanding experience for me. Again, thank you.

    • dug Says:

      kris why do you think i think all that?

      that was a good day with good snow. i should be thanking you for giving me a reason to get out

      • KanyonKris Says:

        I’m not commenting on what you may have thought, I’m saying I was pretty quiet because I was blown from the exertion and I don’t want that to be mistaken for dissatisfaction. Here are my two big takeaways:

        I’m grateful to you for lending me gear and taking me out. You didn’t have to. You invited me and took care of everything. Thank you.

        It was a good, memorable experience. My exhaustion dampened things, but the winter mountain scenery was spectacular, doing something new was exciting, the snow was phenomenal and skiing it was … was … I can’t describe it.

  2. Nate K. Says:

    That comment is why you are who you are. Love that line. Has to be one of my top 3 favs.

  3. Rick S. Says:

    Did you make figure 8’s? Stop it. STOP it.

    • dug Says:

      the 8 crossing was accidental/incidental. i was trying to stay on him for helmet cam filming purposes. i know how it looks, but don’t you judge me.

      also, i did it to incur the wrath of people who don’t like their tracks crossed, and i want people to yell at me for putting all three of us on the slope at once.

  4. Aaron Says:

    Dang, this is making me regret being out of town for the next week. Watching this video makes me want a winter “severence pop” when I get back in town.

  5. Mark Says:

    It’s about time you included a skier with some style in your group. Those plaid pants are sweet. Speaking of which, why do you dress so well on the bike, but not when you ski? With your cool kids I’d think you of all people would throw a little steeze into your winter wardrobe.

    • dug Says:

      because i’m old.

      actually, i wear the plaid on a bike because it drives bikers crazy. i wear old crusty clothes when i ski, because it drives you crazy.

      maybe i’m over thinking this.


Leave a Reply

