that’s a G, not a K

May 23, 2011

Two things today.

First, something that’s been bugging me for a while, and put me over the top last night. It’s the letter G.

Okay, it’s not every instance of the letter G. In fact, it’s kind of not be the letter G at all, but rather, the way some people say the letter G.

I recently worked with someone who pronounced the letter G at the end of gerunds as if they were Ks. As in, “I was runninK through the park, and I had trouble stoppinK.”

And it’s not just gerunds. In fact, you can combine: “I was runninK alonK amonK the Hmong, and I tripped on some dunK because I don’t know how to pronounce my Gs.”

I figured he had a hard childhood, maybe a zealous nanny from Ireland or something. But last night I heard someone else popping out those Gs at a public gathering.

Help me out here. Are you from somewhere else? What region or ancestry is responsible for this? And how can we put a stop to it?

Oh, and thing number two. I took Nala out for a quick bike ride yesterday to see if she’s trail worthy. So far so good.

Rick, the hot dog pieces are for you.

15 Responses to “that’s a G, not a K”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    She was pretty into it. Fast little thing. Of course, if you got rid of that tape worm hanging out the back she might be even faster. Probably got it from the raw hot dogs.

  2. Brandon Says:

    It sure was a good thing your front tire never met up with said “tape worm” while she was running in front of you. That could have been bad.

  3. Grizzly Adam Says:

    Haha. You said “number two”.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Very cool video especially with your shadow in it.
    Sorry, I couldn’t watch the whole thing; I was
    getting carsick (or dizzy). I didn’t know that
    Nahla was so fast!

  5. mtb w Says:

    Way to go Nala! Bet that leash got pretty muddy. My dog loves to run with me when I ride but will chase wildlife so I had to stop taking her.

    • dug Says:

      because you feel bad for the wildlife?

      • mtb w Says:

        No, for my dog. She has never caught anything but chases until she gets tired or lost. But she never fails to give chase, despite the overwhelming lack of success. Should I take that as inspirational, humorous or just sad?

  6. Clydesteve Says:

    These people are from Lonk Island. Bank on it.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Anyone I’ve ever met who spoke like that was from the four corner’s area. One guy from New Mexico and a bunch of people from Blanding (Blandeenk).

  8. Anonymous Says:

    This is going to sound pedantic, but here goes. Not all words ending in “ing” are necessarily gerunds. Only those that are verb-nouns are gerunds, as in “I like swimming.” Here, “swimming” is both the activity (noun) and the action (verb).

  9. 1972roses Says:

    In the midwest we’ve forgotten all about G. Runnin, swimmin, talkin, livin, bikin, as a few examples.
    Plus, it isn’t for somethin, it’s fur somethin.
    Not sure which is worse, to be honest.


Leave a Reply

