look away, i’m hideous

June 12, 2011

I came to a realization on Friday. I guess it’s one of those realizations most of us come to at one point or another.

Ready? Here it is:

I’ve let myself go. And it’s time to get myself back.

Kim put a picture of the two of us at Lake Powell from about 10 years ago on the mirror in our bathroom, to sort of motivate us to be a little more concerned about not eating an entire box of Crunchberries in one evening.

Okay, I’m the only one doing that. But you know what I mean.

Anyway, each night and each morning I go into the bathroom to brush my teeth and I look at the picture, and I think, hey, I still climb mountains, I still ride the north side of Suncrest. How bad can it be?

Then Friday, Burke took me to the local pool to show me the coolest lunch break activity ever. Flowriding.

Turns out, Burke is an excellent flowrider. He has flowriding skills befitting a former national freestyle mogul ski team member.

I, on the other hand?

I am fat and white and spastic.

Behold, if you dare. Or, better yet, look away–I’m hideous.

flowriding for lunch from Doug Anderson on Vimeo.

But I won’t be fat and white and spastic forever.

I’ll start tanning next week.

12 Responses to “look away, i’m hideous”

  1. Paul Says:

    I’m sure I saw the baby kick just at the end of the clip.

  2. C-Fed Says:

    That level of coordination is likely going to lead to a career in computing with cycling as a hobby.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    I think you did good for your first time.

    Concerning how you look, no snark from me in the pasty, doughy, glass house. I need to invest in those quick-dry water t-shirts.

  4. mark Says:

    At least you’re not riding on your hands and knees, or worse, your belly, like the kids next to you.


  5. That looks awesome. I laughed & cried.

    Try bending your knees & not looking down at your feet!

  6. Jonnie J Says:

    Keep your shirt on and get some shorter shorts. Everyone knows its all about the legs these days!

  7. Mate of Sara-no-'h' Says:

    Does the flapping of the arms really help?

  8. VaLene Says:

    What pool is that? Spastic was the perfect adjective. However, I did see improvement as the video went on. I think there’s hope for you Doug.

  9. Nate K. Says:

    That chick totally made you do a faceplant! I want to try that. Not the faceplant per say. I think you have a little Jonny Utah in ya. Dig deep, its there. “I caught my first tube today sir”

  10. ricky Says:

    omg, that’s funny.

  11. Six Says:

    You’ll always be my hero Dug, just for getting out there and trying something new if nothing else. Cool Jams by the way.


Leave a Reply

