white pine chute. in june.

June 15, 2011

2010/2011. What a year. And I’m not sure it’s over.

We started off with a bang in October skiing from Gunsight Pass at Alta. And every month in between has delivered average days and epic days, including getting Holden out in deep powder, doing a field day avalanche class with Ian, and, you know, more.

And then I thought we were capping it off with the East Ridge of Timp in May.

But no. This morning, June 15th, me, Burke, Ben, and Casey got up Little Cottonwood Canyon and sampled one of the dozen or so chutes on the north side of the canyon.

White Pine Chute. If you’re keeping track at home, let’s check our math–that makes 9 months of skiing so far. Now I’m kind of feeling boxed in–how can I NOT find a chute to ski in July? And maybe, just maybe, I’ll have to find something in August. And September. Make it an even dozen months in a row.

These are long booters, and I was the clear boat anchor of the group.

On the other hand, if I hadn’t been at the back slowing everybody down, the other guys would have gotten to the top waaaay too soon, and the skiing would have sucked. So really, if you think about it, they were lucky to have me along.

(And I have to give props to Burke–any Terrence Malick level videography on the climb comes from Burke’s SLR. Unfortunately Burke’s GoPro ran out of battery just as we started down. Go Contour!)

white pine chute. in june. from Doug Anderson on Vimeo.

Turns out, there’s still a bit of snow up there. Rob, who missed out this morning, asked if it will still be good for a couple more days.

It’ll be good. Maybe for more than a few days.

8 Responses to “white pine chute. in june.”

  1. Nate K. Says:

    Wait, did I spot a helmet on your head? I rubbed my eyes and everything. Way to get after it on June freakin 15th!

    • dug Says:

      well, i lost the goggle mount for the contour headcam, but I HAD a helmet mount. so I swiped ians helmet.

      it’s pretty steezy.

  2. Pat Terhune Says:

    Hey, cool video, I enjoy your site and posts. What is the music you have playing through the video?

    • dug Says:

      pat, it’s XX, Crystalized, then Men Without Wax, He’s a Wrecking Machine, then, of course, The Who, I’m Free.

  3. Jonnie J Says:

    OK. You are the man. And I give you high marks for cinematography.

  4. mark Says:

    The form factor on the GoPro is hideous.

    Also, I agree with Jonnie J and Brandon about the cinematography. If your cutting room could get it down to one song, it would help those of us with short attention spans. Not that they weren’t three good songs…

    OK, I’ll go back on my meds.

    • dug Says:

      the cutting room staff made a commitment to never do a video longer than one song.

      but the staff just can’t do it. the staff regrets any inconvenience.


Leave a Reply

