back on dirt

June 30, 2011

Have I mentioned that I love where I live?

I’m like Steve Martin in Planes, Trains, and Automobiles: “I could tolerate any insurance seminar. For days I could sit there and listen to them go on and on with a big smile on my face. They’d say, “How can you stand it?” I’d say, “‘Cause I’ve been with Del Griffith. I can take ANYTHING.””

I can take the nutter politics, the demographics wackier than Smurfville, I can even take the Eagle Forum.

Because I can ski Tanners on Saturday. And I can do this on Tuesday:

Went out for the Frank to Dry loop with Burke and Rick.

Burke has worked 100 yards from this trail for almost 5 years and never ridden it. Maybe because he was too busy skiing moguls on the national team. Or changing the world.

But he did it yesterday, and on his 16 year old bike too. And he totally killed it.

Sure, he looks a bit like death, from the Seventh Seal. Or maybe Speed Racer. But you have to admit–he KILLS it.

Here’s a longer, meandering version of the video. For those of you with longer attention spans. Think of them as the Scorcese version, and the Terrence Malick version.

And Mark, just fyi, they’re BOTH one song versions.

 

5 Responses to “back on dirt”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    my phone must have been on silent. That’s why I missed the invite. Tell me that’s why I missed the invite.

  2. Rick S. Says:

    that was me crying about the invite thing.

  3. Burke Says:

    Doug thanks for all the shout outs–you are the true shepherd of the mountains. Keep up the great posts and laughs!

  4. KanyonKris Says:

    Welcome to the dirt, Burke! Ya done good.

  5. mark Says:

    8 minutes is not a song, it’s an anthem. And 13 minutes? I can’t sit still and do anything for 13 minutes. The 8 minute one is a nice song, though.


Leave a Reply

