dirty and happy

August 1, 2011

Me n Mark rode the Dry Loop for lunch today. Turns our, that’s kind of an ironic name.

We got a nice sprinkling on the climb, keeping us nicely refreshed.

The skies opened up for the descent, just as I heard that tell tale pinging sound from the rear wheel. Broken spoke. Mark was patient as we were both instantly soaked all the way through. Past our skin.

So, monsoon downpour; dirt clods in my eye, which is still red; giant weeds on the BST east of Dry that are like rabid German cycling fans lining the Alpe d’Huez, except these punch you in the face and legs and leave welts; a broken spoke; and yet.

I love riding my bike.

6 Responses to “dirty and happy”

  1. bikemike Says:

    the only possible way you could’ve had a better ride would’ve been with a good case of jock itch.

  2. jruss Says:

    ¡anranjado!

    what type of irony are we talking about here? Situational?

    10,00 Spoons

  3. Anonymous Says:

    A ‘bad’ few hours on the bike is still better than most of the hours spent off of the bike, in my opinion!

  4. Adventure Nell Says:

    Had the same experience. I had just climbed up a crushing hill and as I was attempting to not throw up my lungs, I turned to my friend and said “how could someone not just love this?” and I meant it!!! It hurt but it was such an awesome hurt 🙂

  5. Jon Says:

    Ricky and I did the same loop about ten minutes behind you. We caught the rain on the way up. I haven’t been that muddy in a long time.

    Oh, and love your description of the grass near the mouth of Dry. Wow. I’ve never experience grass that tried so hard to knock me off my bike before. I’m thinking I’d better bring a scythe next time.


Leave a Reply

