cmon kita, don’t break his heart

September 6, 2011

I’ve made no secret of the fact that I love Rush, in all its phases.

Not that that would make a very interesting secret. In fact, what’s up with saying “I’ve made no secret of the fact that . . . ?” This will be the last time I use that phrase.

Anyway. That’s not why I’ve gathered y’all together this morning (or whenever you happen to read this).

The point is, I rode Rush a couple times this last weekend, and came across this:

It’s a series of signs that read, in order, if I remember right:

“Kita, will you be my girl for homecoming?”

Now, I don’t wanna get off on a rant here, or act like I’m 100 years old (although today IS my birthday), but really? What happened to calling a girl up, and stammering something like “um, er, you wouldn’t want to go to homecoming with me, would you?”

No. First, you have to create some elaborate Rube Goldberg method of asking someone out. The signs on Rush thing is actually pretty tame compared to some. Like scavenger hunts that involve plane tickets to Brazil, for example. And then to accept the date, you have to create an equally elaborate way to say YES (or, sadly, no). Like have Ron Paul deliver your answer, while driving a hay wagon.

And then the date itself. You can’t just go to dinner, then the dance. Noooooo. You have the Day Date. An early breakfast on the summit of timp, catered by the Sundance Tree Room staff. Then a little down time, followed by an Olympic Caliber Rope Course (nevermind that there are no ropes courses in the Olympics–just wait a year or two, or four). Then a giant limo that takes you and 20 of your closest friends to the Olive Garden for a very fancy meal of all-you-can-eat soup and salad.

And THEN the dance, where you don’t hang with your date, but rather with the Group. It’s like dating the Borg.

Oh, and THEN, to someone’s house for the after party.

Final bill? The GDP of the Duchy of Grand Fenwick.

Okay, deep breath. And some medication.

Where was I? Oh, right, someone asking Kita to be his girl.

Forget all that other stuff I said–any teenage couple who are BOTH riding Rush often enough to use it as a billboard for a homecoming date?

I’m all for it. Kita, don’t break his heart. We’re pulling for you kids.

As long as the day date is a tour of corner canyon.

31 Responses to “cmon kita, don’t break his heart”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Happy Birthday!

  2. chtrich Says:

    Happy Birthday!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Happy Birthday!! 🙂

    Carrie

  4. Nate Says:

    Saw those signs on the night ride last night. Couldn’t make out the last few signs as they were curled over.

  5. stevebpt Says:

    Being a non rider I thought this was going to be about the canadian Rush.

    Loved the rant. Having been through a few of these Homecoming deals now. I think it’s an evil plot to somehow make the girls pay for some of it. I didn’t think kids these days knew how to talk on a phone or date or dance one on one until my daughter got a boyfriend. Now there’s TOO MUCH one on one. Sheesh.

    Kita, don’t go breaking his heart now, pick up all those signs and sign every one of them yes, yes, yes.

  6. stevebpt Says:

    And Happy Birthday. Again.

  7. bikemike Says:

    dude, i thought it was going to be about “the other rush”…man, don’t scare me like that.

    happy freakin’ birthday.

  8. KanyonKris Says:

    I hope you had a raspberry fritter for your birthday. If not, I’ll meet you there tomorrow and the fritter’s on me.

    I feel the same about the dating practices of this generation, having been introduced to them via our oldest daughter. I loved your “it’s like dating the Borg”, spot on. On one hand we felt better the kids were all together instead of paired up, kind of self policing, we hoped. But group dating seems to leave these kids unable to one-on-one date, so what’s next? I love my kids, I like having them around, but somewhere around age 25 I want them out on their own, not living at home.

    • wraps Says:

      If my kids aren’t out of the house when they turn 18, I’m moving out.

      • KanyonKris Says:

        wraps, I agree. 25 was just a planning number, I reserve the right to change it.

        • CB Says:

          The average age of “adulthood” is now reached between 26-27. Compared to us “old fogies” who reached “adulthood” at 18-19. (Who am I kidding?? I still haven’t reached adulthood.) Which is why so many twenty-somethings still live at home. Nice gig for them, three squares a day and free rent.

  9. mark Says:

    A peculiar people indeed.

  10. MOCougFan Says:

    Happy BD. Hope it was awesome.

    How cool would it be to be married to a girl who liked to ride as much as me?…. (day dreaming now).

  11. Anonymous Says:

    It is way over the top! Then Christian informed me a few years
    ago when he went to the dances that they just hang out there
    for about a half an hour and don’t even dance!

    Happy Birthday! Hope it’s a good one!

  12. Dianne West Says:

    I’m not anonymous!

  13. Adventure Nell Says:

    Happy Anniversary of your Birth…have a burrito the size of your head 🙂

  14. VaLene Says:

    Happy birthday Doug! You’re just a spring chicken, aren’t you? In Oregon, we never had these clever asking/answering or day date traditions. You forgot to mention the photos – add that to the bill. And that type of photo shoot is so outdated. We have digital now. But the kids feel compelled to order these photos that just might turn out poor, in the same old photo holders that they used 27 years ago when I was in high school!

  15. Alex Says:

    the mouse that roared. nice. i think i first saw that in elementary school social studies.

  16. Ruprecht Says:

    would you be my girl, would you be my girl, would you be my be my be my girl?

  17. Whitney Pogue Says:

    It should read “as long as the day date is in corner canyon to clean up the posters we left on the trail in our excitement”.

  18. tibiker Says:

    oh, and BTW, that chick that just left that comment….She’s my wife and she LOVES to ride. Perhaps MORE than me right now.

    I too am hoping they get up there and clean up their mess.


Leave a Reply

