thanks

September 11, 2011

Why would anybody choose this:

When you could choose this:

As far as I know (and I know a LOT), there are no handicapped people in my building.

Let me put that another way. There are most certainly handicapped people in my building. But nobody in my building uses a wheelchair.

So again, given the choice, and the guarantee you will never exit the stall to find a wheelchair-bound co-worker sadly shaking his head and sitting in a mess, why, why would you choose a stall where your elbows hits the walls instead of a cathedral with everything but a cloister?

And yet, as I enter the outhouse at work, the giant pleasure palace seems consistently empty, as if someone is saving it for me.

So, um. Thanks?

17 Responses to “thanks”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    Your coworker’s reluctance is your gain.

    Only risks, albeit unlikely: wheelchair visitor, coworker is injured and using wheelchair.

    • dug Says:

      well here’s the thing. let’s say there IS one wheelchair bound person in the building. what, he should have exclusive access to 25% of the stalls in the building?

      i say no.

  2. bikemike Says:

    oooh, oooh, i just saw this on an episode of “always sunny in philadelphia”, just rent a wheelchair and say you have polio.

  3. chtrich Says:

    The toilet paper looks quite far away in the pleasure palace. Deceptive angle of the photograph?

    • rick Says:

      Looks like about 9 tiles. If they are 2-inch tiles, that does seem to be quite a stretch, especially if you are one of those for whom the facility was constructed.

      • dug Says:

        it’s a an illusion. the tp is right there.

        the problem is, turns out, the rolls dont spin freely enough. they stick, so i keep pulling off one square at a time.

        it aggravates me.

        • bikemike Says:

          ” so i keep pulling off one square at a time”… see, you are handicapped and deserve to be in there.

          • KanyonKris Says:

            Badabing. Cracked me up, thanks Mike.

            • wraps Says:

              Why does a place like this have the type of holders that the roll doesn’t spin freely. I usually see that along with paper that is less than durable. By the time I get the amount of paper I need my blood pressure has spiked. And if there’s a lot of paperwork involved then the whole event is ruined. Are they afraid you’re going to use a whole roll or spin it all over the floor? I can see in a public bathroom at the bus station but in the company’s restrooms? Please. Besides, there’s an extra roll on the toilet itself so I’m baffled.

  4. mark Says:

    Worst day of my career was when I walked out of the handicap stall to see a wheelchair-bound colleague sitting there and waiting. I still have nightmares. Thankfully, I don’t work there anymore and those nightmares are not so vibrant to keep me from using the relatively palatial space.

  5. Andy in WV Says:

    Umm you choose the small one when the handicap one has what we refer to as Turdzilla. Turdzilla won’t flush unless beaten with a stick. Our janitor retains said stick. I have a photo if Turdzilla if you like….

  6. Scott Says:

    Doesn’t the big stall, with all the space, sort of feel like doing it in the open, outdoors, and therefore make it less comfortable? My two cents.

  7. Bob B. Says:

    The walls in the narrow stall lend themselves to equidistant pushing. I feel like I could really get some work done in there, bowel evacuation-wise.


Leave a Reply

