wild kingdom

February 2, 2012

We spent the day at Primary Children’s hospital today, even though Maddy is officially no longer a child. She has hip displaysia.

Okay, that’s not true. But she does have hip issues. And they fix hips at Primary Children’s.

Last time they tried to fix Maddy’s hip, her anesthesia IV came out as she got to recovery. That didn’t go well.

As you can see, she’s a little nervous from the memory.

And here is her big toe, in recovery:

But really, all this is an excuse to show you the most disturbing thing to happen to me for a long time. Kim hit the elevator button, the doors opened, and, well, see for yourself:

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

Okay, let’s see it again:

I think I have a new irrational fear. Yay me.

8 Responses to “wild kingdom”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    Boosting business by causing elevator accidents? How did someone think a charging elephant was appropriate for a hospital elevator? I’m with you, I’ll be seeing those eyes in my nightmares.

    BTW, Maddy looks college aged now. Your last photos she looked high school age. How fast these kids grow up. She’s a woman now. My daughter is 20 and I still can’t grok it. It just can’t be.

  2. VaLene Says:

    Surgery is no laughing matter, but I laughed so hard at the giant elephant mural – imagining yours and Kim’s reaction at an otherwise serious event. I hope Maddy is recovering nicely.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Hummingbirds and elephants. Freud would have a field day. Not to mention bloggers respondents. Love and hugs to Maddy and ya’ll. May you have a much less eventful year!!!!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    The more I look at the elephant he just looks like a big ole puppy dog!! Look at those eyes all cute and sayin “I wanna lick your face”.

  5. Sara-no-h Says:

    James and I were just there on Tuesday! We were in that elevator, too. There was a ‘made in China’ sticker on that elephant that James wanted to bring home and stick on Mei.

  6. Bikemike Says:

    I would’ve just thrown nerf darts at the darn thing.

  7. Clydesteve Says:

    So Jumanji has infected the hospital? Ouch, I hate it when diseases are spread, rather than cured at places of healing.


Leave a Reply

