linking up

March 14, 2012

I’m not much of a social networker, I’m more of a Hold Forther.

But I have joined the ranks of those who Link inwardly. Because I want a job as much as the next guy. (I have one presently, but you never know.)

Well, as a result of being linked, I get link requests on a pretty regular basis. And you know, requests for linkage seem to have rules, kind of like calling a date back.

These are my rules:

If a friend sends a link request, you just accept it in your email, and forget about it–it’s just link building. No big deal.

If a neighbor or acquaintance attempts a link, you look at the email, ignore it for a day, then open the request and accept it. Because you’re too important to just accept out of hand. Unless it’s your boss. Then you accept immediately.

And if someone you work with, but not directly, who is clearly just building a network, links you, you ignore it for at least a couple days, then open it, then ignore it for another couple days, then finally accept it. You don’t want to look easy.

I’m not sure what the protocol is on someone who recently left your place of employment (voluntarily or involuntarily–although maybe they have different rules?). Now you’re in the driver seat, but still, they need you. But do you need them? You might? Maybe it’s a game time decision.

And if someone you don’t know pings you, just delete the email.

Unless you’re out of work. Then accept everything.

6 Responses to “linking up”

  1. steve Says:

    What is this new thing of which you speak?

  2. BM Says:

    Shouldn’t that be “holder of forth”?

    • dug Says:

      well, it would be if i held the forth, but i don’t, i forth the forth. i’m a forther, not a holder.

      wait, unless it’s like holding court. it’s not, is it?

  3. The Flyin' Ute Says:

    Funny how those rules seem to be intuitive.

  4. Michele Says:

    Thanks for Linking me when you did. I need all the help I can get as I go out looking for a new job since the last one dumped me.


Leave a Reply

