really?

March 27, 2012

I have a few regular gimmicks for my blog. You know, ski or bike video, bathroom conundrums, friday news roundup. All that. Here’s kind of a new one, ripped off from SNL: Really? As in, you really did that? Or, you just pushed the dog into the tub, while I was in it–Really?

Not too long ago, at a basketball game, I was using a urinal (okay, I hate the word urinal. I don’t hate it as much as I hate the word nostril, or even ointment, but I hate it. A lot.) adjacent to the urinal Holden was using. Holden spit his gum into the, er, toilet. I gave him a small lecture about how someone was going to have to fish that gum out of there. Someone working for minimum wage who already hated his job was going to have to reach in and grab his gum–already an unpleasant task without the whole “urinal” thing.

So, I work in a fairly nice facility. In fact, here’s a picture of the outside:

I’m pretty sure that every single person working in this building is an adult. That is, old enough to know better.

So, in a class A office space, with waterless urinals with spiffy (albeit often crooked) golf mats, who in the Hell spits gum into the urinal?

Really?

14 Responses to “really?”

  1. south Says:

    You couldn’t wait until you were done to take the pic? Didn’t need to see your stream there.

    • KanyonKris Says:

      I agree with the gum . . Really?

      Also agree with south, stream shot . . . Really?! I’m good with the bathroom talk, it’s natural and we aren’t Victorian prudes. But seeing that stream skeeved me a out a little.

  2. Steve Says:

    thought I was going to be first but the first guy made an interesting observation. Gotta admit, I missed that on first glance. Anyway, not what I came here for. I thought the golf mat was for that very purpose, so people would put there gum there, and not get it in the drain or put it in the garbage?

  3. Andy Taylor Says:

    NIce, mid-stream pic. Aren’t you glad you didn’t drop the phone?

  4. roan Says:

    SORRY ‘BOUT THAT ! In my urge and gasping for air because I almost didn’t make it in time…the said evidence just tumbled out.
    Did you make or did Holden offer to remove similar but with malice of forethought ? Thought so. I rest my case.

  5. Anon Says:

    I hate the word “facility”

  6. Scott Says:

    When I was working at Safeway, someone once dumped in the urinal. That’s way worse to clean up.

  7. Bikemike Says:

    Ha, you think adults are smarter than kids. That’s the funny.

  8. VA Biker Says:

    Funny, being a male, I didn’t give the sight of the pee stream a second thought when I first saw the photo. Something we see regularly, I guess. Now the gum, that’s offensive. I concur with the elements of your discussion with Holden. Good work.

  9. jruss Says:

    at least you are well hydrated. that’s a plus. is there really water in diet coke?


  10. How do those words rank vs. MOIST?


Leave a Reply

