oh no i didn’t

September 2, 2012

Let’s just get this out of the way right up front–I woke up at 5:30 in my brother’s Park City house to pouring rain, thunder, lightning. I went upstairs to look at the radar on the computer, and in addition to the giant thunderstorm over Park City, there was another Isaac-sized storm coming from the west.

So I went back to bed.

Did I mention I hate riding in the mud and rain? I hate riding in the mud and rain. I’m a fair weather racer. Well, I’m not really a racer at all, but I’m definitely a fair weather event rider.

But my day was not without misery. Because when I woke up later at about 9am, the sky was blue and the weather calm. And I hated myself. Despite a morning of pancakes, eggs, and watching the dogs frolic in the backyard, I was in the words of Kim and Holden, “pretty mopey.”

When we decided to head down to Davanzas for some lunch, I declared that before showing myself in public, I would have to remove the category number the P2P folks had sharpied onto my calf the night before. And Liz happily volunteered her Mr Clean Magic Eraser.

The first pass she took at my calf with the wet eraser felt pretty good, and got a good bit of Sharpie off my leg. She rinsed it out, and went in for another pass, which also felt fine and took off most of the number.

But a bit of sharpie remained. So Liz went in for round three, because she’s a perfectionist, and this time, well, I’m not gonna lie, I kinda felt like she had pushed a nail or five through the eraser, and was vigorously scrubbing it up and down my calf. There may have been some shouting and kicking.

Here’s what my calf looked like last night:

Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

You know how in The Mission, Robert De Niro’s character feels bad for being a slave trader, and carries his sack of armor up the waterfall as penance?

I guess it’s like that. But really, I hate riding in the rain.

But just fer fun, here’s the leg today:

 

13 Responses to “oh no i didn’t”

  1. kanyonkris Says:

    Leg hair would have prevented that, one way or another.

    And let me pour some lemon juice on it: I had an ice cold diet coke waiting for you at the finish.

  2. roan Says:

    Looks like road rash even if you didn’t ‘race’.
    Didn’t you read the label “Mr Clean Magic Eraser”, ‘DO NOT USE on wimpy don’t like to ride in the rain fair weather event riders.’ was in small print. From now on you should do all your ‘racing’ as an E-raser on-line.

  3. kelly Says:

    Looks like razor burn to me.


  4. […] I called Dug (you absolutely must read his post I just linked to, by the way), because he is really good about […]

  5. Moose Says:

    Rubbing alcohol or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer helps a lot for getting sharpie off of skin. I’ve also found sunscreen “helps,” although moreso if you put the sunscreen on first, then sharpie, then a hefty dose of sweat.

  6. leroy Says:

    You’re lucky. My dog once convinced me a cheese grater was the way to go.

    It’s amazing how long he can hold a grudge about getting fixed.

  7. Stevenbpt Says:

    No evidence of the number, looks like she did a good job. course, the scabs might have hidden any remnants. One should read the label even if your sis in law says to use it.

  8. bikemike Says:

    job well done.

  9. Elden Says:

    Am I really going to have to be the first one to bring up the varicose veins?

  10. kanyonkris Says:

    And you shall be called, Hester.

    (Haha. Hey, where’d everybody go? Help, I’m being swarmed by crickets!)

  11. Six Says:

    I like it. Think about having it permanently tattoed in. Just consider the stuff it’d get you out of.
    “I’d really love to help you out with that nasty, dirty, backbreaking task but my leg is just killing me.”
    Genius!!


Leave a comment