i’m only MOSTLY dead

August 11, 2008

I’ve been mostly dead all weekend, so I don’t have a lot of time or energy for story telling or video editing. I have lots of material to work with, and I’m trying to compile different video files and pictures into one or two good clips for dramatic effect, with music and all that.

But for now, I’ll just put this here, and let the actual Zapruder film tell the story.

I don’t get eaten by the eels at this time. There is a happy ending. For me, anyway. In case you were nervous.

I apologize for the cinema verite/blair witch handheld effect. I was riding a bike at the time.

Oh, and I thought you might like to see this. I’m sure Elden will have more to say about it.

elden goes down

8 Responses to “i’m only MOSTLY dead”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    That video was beautiful – raw Leadville. If Elden has the just keep pedaling superpower, yours must be filming while riding – impressive.

    Was that Dolly Pardon on iPod?

    You have a groupie in Leadville, or at least your plaid shorts do.

    The weather looks threateningly ominous – or is it ominously threatening?

    I look forward to hearing Elden’s explanation of how he got sideways when all the other fish were headed upstream.

    Now continue to enjoy the rest of the victorious.

  2. Mocougan Says:

    Dude….Very impressive. I think I’m gonna cry with you and your wife there at the end. BTW… I love the “I remember those plaid shorts” comment. You need to market those things. Make a little money on the side.

    Strong work brother, very impressive.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    And the award for the Best Use of Princess Bride Quotes goes to …. dug!

    Some say Princess Bride has run it’s course and is now passe, but I disagree. If the line fits, wear it.

  4. VH1 Says:

    People don’t understand how cool and hard Leadville is until they have been there! Nice work old man and HUGE props for a sub 11 on a rigid single

  5. BotchedExperiment Says:

    The air seems thin in that video.

    You’re drivetrain may need a squirt of oil. And a new chain, chainwheel, and cog.

    Did those two guys pass you in the last 100 yards?

    Did you say that parts were the worst time of your life? Have you forgotten summer solstice whiterim?

    How much harder is Leadville than Hog Hollow?

  6. Rick S. Says:

    Dug- An amazing result. Leadville on a single is just plain cool. Add a basket and plaid shorts and you’ve essentially insulted anyone with lycra and gears as you pass by them. Love it.
    I can’t wait to see the video.

  7. Bob Says:

    Seeing that Finish line at the corner of Harrison and 6th street made my eyes water, and the camera work made me vomit. You seemed much happier after the race this year than last.

  8. Eber Says:

    Plaid-shorts-single-speed-guy – all I can say is that was a freakin’ awesome post (video and all)! Thanks for sharing and congrats on the ride!

    You know how it goes though – three weeks from now you’ll be booking room 237 at the Overlook Hotel for next year!

    Nice work dug!


Leave a comment