homeless kit

August 11, 2009

Last week, as I exited the freeway, I saw a homeless guy with one leg (pretty sure it wasn’t Eddie Murphy) and a cardboard sign. He caught me in a pretty vulnerable moment, where any suffering at all would get the tears flowing, and I reached into my pocket and gave him all the cash I had on me.

When I told Kim about the encounter later that night, Maddy had a question:

“Where do homeless people get the Sharpies to make those signs?”

Which is just a great question–we buy whole PACKS of Sharpies, none of which seem to remain in our house for more than a week. Who gives them the markers? Or is that where MY markers have gone?

7 Responses to “homeless kit”

  1. Rich Says:

    Very astute Maddy. Could they also have all of the mates to our missing socks?

  2. bikemike Says:

    i NEVER come up with the obvious questions like that.

    remember that test in the third grade where you had to read through it and at the end just sign your name and put your pencil down. yeah, i did all the stupid stuff it asked you to do. count backwards from 20 in chicken voice…etc., etc.

    She’ll be a great engineer. why did NASA spend millions of dollars designing a pen that would wrie in space, when the Russians just used a pencil.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    From the title I was expecting a discussion about cycling clothing homeless people wear. Rick, I smell (literally?) a new direction for Salt Cycle.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Haven’t you heard of the Sharpie fairy? She leaves Sharpies under the heads of the homeless people while they’re sleeping. I think she takes them from our houses when we’re sleeping.


  5. Aren’t kids just the best at getting to the heart of the matter?


Leave a Reply

