prediction: pain

September 1, 2010

How excited am I for the Park City Point to Point race event this weekend?

About as excited as Rocky must have been for his fight with Clubber Lang.

My prediction for the P2P? Pain.

I’m gonna need a bigger boat.

29 Responses to “prediction: pain”

  1. GrizzlyAdam Says:

    You’ll be fine! Fiiiine! We’ll all be juuuuust fine!

  2. stevenbpt Says:

    I have never understood you folks who voluntarily sign up for “events” that involve long bouts of pain and suffering. Short term pain for the sake of fun I understand. But where is the fun in an event you know is going to hurt, a lot, for a long time??

    Just sayin.

    • dug Says:

      i do not understand the draw myself. there is no explaining it. there is no selling it (or processing or buying it), only describing it.

      but once you’re hooked, you’re hooked.

      • KanyonKris Says:

        Was there bait on that hook? Because I’m with stevenbpt, this sounds like masochism.

        Saturday morning I’ll be riding the Blackhawk loop with my wife and a few friends at an enjoyable pace with breaks for snacks/lunch and just to take in the scenery, and possibly a dip in the lake, and finish with the funtastic Bennie Creek descent. Yeah, I know, heresy.

        But seriously, to each his own and I hope you have a good ride.

    • ElZo Says:

      Pain is cleansing.

  3. bikemike Says:

    To the pain!

  4. Rick S. Says:

    I predict Mr. T will be riding on your handlebar at some point during the race.

  5. Jeffwillardson Says:

    Does anybody have a 24 tooth cog I can borrow this weekend? Or 25, or 26? … Or 27

    • mark Says:

      How about just getting a rear derailleur and cassette? But I guess that would eliminate your opportunity to solicit compliments on how tough you must be whenever you bitch about how hard that race was on your single speed.

      • dug Says:

        mark, are you just a teensy bit tired of us singlespeeders?

        just to be clear–have you ever heard me tout the ss, complain about it, call it out, or otherwise proselytize?

        for the record, i don’t believe in the ss category. ride what you brought. i can’t help being old, so i’m in favor of age catgegories. but i inflict the ss thing on myself.

        • mark Says:

          This attitude I agree with. You dance with the girl that brung ya. If you want to ride a singlespeed (I have one too), fine. But it’s your choice to ride it, so don’t bitch about how hard it is or how you want an easier gear. And don’t be all Jesus Freak to people who happen to prefer gears.

  6. Jason Says:

    If you come across me laying in a marginally responsive state off the side of the course, don’t say anything, just squirt a little water on my face or flip a rock at me with your tire (you know that trick you do) to wake me up a bit. You know, so I can get back to wandering towards wherever it was I was going before it gets dark.

  7. Nate Says:

    want to borrow the lady bug backpack?

  8. ShedBiker Says:

    Embrace the suck.

  9. Derron Says:

    Bring the pain! Please, just don’t bring the bonk….please?

  10. Steve The BigRide Says:

    Did you not know this when you signed up?

  11. Aaron Says:

    Okay, so I officially found the limit to nested comments on wordpress, because I could not type a message in response to the SS thread.

    I think the bitching about how SS’ers like to bitch has officially exceeded the amount of bitching that comes from SS’ers themselves. That’s a lot of bitches. Bitches.

    • Anonymous Says:

      Holy cow! I agree Aaron! You boys are worse than women! And, I hope you all got the memo to not wear white bike shorts. You really embarress me.


Leave a comment