moab reboot

November 12, 2012

Reboots are all the rage these days. And almost always for the better. We’ve got darker, moodier, bloodier Batman, Spiderman, Superman (due out soon), and even a James Bond with Oedipal issues who cries (CRIES!).

Let me go on record–I’m in favor of all of it. Stories are all about execution. There is no story that won’t be interesting or funny or intense or at least watchable in the right story telling hands. Execution is the thing, not the play.Which brings me to something I said about Diet Coke many years ago.

I don’t know what happened between 2002 and 2004 at the Coca Cola think tank, but apparently the right person died, because there’s no way the same dipweed who came up with the crap that is Diet Coke with Lemon and the mess that is Diet Vanilla Coke also invented the sublime flavor bouquet that is Diet Coke with Lime. Somebody in Georgia deserves a promotion. And a big hug. And a night with an expensive hooker. I could go on. I’m just really, really grateful.

Diet Coke with Lime–execution at its finest.

This last weekend we held Fall Moab 2013, and I’m here to tell you, Moab has been re-booted. Maybe I’m late to the party. But somehow I missed the reformation. Somehow Moab changed from Jeep road heaven to singletrack paradise.

Here’s what I think happened–I think somehow the demographics shifted, and the old miner segment with a locals only mentality is finally the minority, and someone had the bright idea that alienating tourists by sneering at them in the grocery store, running them off the road with pickup trucks, and marking remote yet popular trails just enough to get someone into the middle of nowhere but not back again isn’t the best route to economic sustainability.

Someone is embracing the new world.

Because instead of going to Moab and choosing between Slickrock, Porcupine Rim, Amasa Back, Poison Spider Mesa, and Gold Bar Rim (ALL trails that are either old motorcycle playgrounds or abandoned Jeep roads, except for the lower section of Porcupine), we got into town Friday morning, and spent 6 hours exploring all the new trails in the Klondike Bluffs area, which is no longer just a quick and dirty family ride to an overlook and some dinosaur tracks and an overlook of Arches, but instead sports miles and miles of beautifully constructed singletrack like EKG, UFO, Giant Steps, and more.

Saturday, instead of just doing our usual all day outing on Gold Bar Rim (which is awesome), we started at the top of the old Gemini Bridges road, took aim at the Magnificent Seven, and did an endless amount of wicked awesome singletrack descending to the bridges, past the bridges, and up and around Gold Bar, finishing with the old Portal Trail.

And Sunday, we sampled just a portion of the Bar M area, doing Deadman’s Ridge and Lazy EZ and more.

Wow. All I can say is Wow. THIS! I WANT THIS!

Thanks Moab person who decided to re-invent himself/herself. You have raised the bar. The ball is in St. George’s court.

Oh yeah. Fall Moab. Me, Elden, Bob, Paul, Cori, Kenny, Steve, and Kris. (No Brad. No Gary. No Ricky. No Sunderlage. No Sleepy. Booooooooooooooo.) We rode. We had fun. We had seasons in the sun (mostly–the storms kept brushing us without actually hitting us).

Some pics. Jus fer fun.

Yup, the human Wilhelm Scream was along for the ride.

That storm brushed us like 5 times. Never really got us.

The brats were fresh, and the bread warm. And I had heartburn for 3 days.

There was some disagreement over how close is too close

This sort of thing was just lying around, just waiting for us to ride on it. I love Moab.

The “messer” becomes the “messee!”

Back in the day (before the advent of his children), Bob jumped the gap between these two twins.

The sign says “Walk your bike.” Elden laughs in the face of danger.

Kris stares into the beast on the Portal

The Piece de Resistance

Just esplorin

And finally, here’s me riding a bit. I followed all the standard rules (hands on the bars, feet locked in the pedals), but did poke my heels out a bit to let the rock know I was there.

11 Responses to “moab reboot”

  1. Elden Says:

    Only way the weekend coulda been better woulda been if Ricky, Brad, and Gary were there. When’s the last time the core team in its entirety rode together?

  2. kanyonkris Says:

    Moab 2.0 is indeed a fantastic reboot. That trip did me good. Now I can welcome Winter.

  3. Cori Jones Says:

    Fun trip, wish I could have been there 😉

  4. kanyonkris Says:

    Oh, and “just esplorin”? Too modest. I was in awe of you guys even attempting that skinny, wobbly rock bridge let alone making it.

    • Bob B. Says:

      Kris, that rock wobbled, but it was a friendly wobble that made a tap-tap sound, as if it were saying “tick tock” or “good one.” It was rock solid.

  5. The Flyin' Ute Says:

    The Piece de Resistance is a cool picture bro!

    Went skiing yesterday morning. Thanks for helping me get started in the backcountry. Can’t imagine all the years I missed. What a blast.

  6. Travis Says:

    Brilliant Dug, i haven’t been to Moab since the late 90’s when I moved from idaho, but your comments about marking trails just enough to get thoroughly lost was part of just about every trip. 3 hour rides become 6 hours, food is gone, water is gone – it’s getting dark as you limp back into town on the side of the highway. And still have to climb back up to the campsite…. ahh, the memories.


  7. Hey Doug,

    Was messing around googling some AF Canyon bike stuff and came across your site. We’re putting on a Gran Fondo in Utah County that goes up and down the canyon in May. You be interested? We just got done putting on a marathon in September and are trying to catch up, so there’s not much of anything in our site but here it is: http://www.timpgranfondo.com.

    My partner Kevin knows Elden well from his help with the AF Canyon Half, which I worked on with him in 2010 as well. Tell him hi for me!

  8. LidsB2 Says:

    Dug,

    If the flavor bouquet that is Diet Coke with Lime is “sublime”, what kind of defective limes do they use? How do I avoid such substandard fruit? If they used first-rate limes, how delicious would Diet Coke with Lime be? I can’t help but ask these questions…

    Lids

  9. LidsB2 Says:

    Nearly two months have passed, and ne’er a post. Why hast thou forsaken us??


Leave a comment