buttercup

September 24, 2008

When the kids were younger, we used to joke about the differences between boys and girls. Well, not so much the differences, but we saw an attribute in our boys that we never saw in Maddy. I tend to be a nurture guy, not a nature guy, but early on, if you ever wanted to make the boys laugh, all you had to do was say, in any order, volume, or situation:

POO BUTT FART.

The boys would collapse in paroxysms of laughter. In church, at home, at school, in the mall, wherever.

You could whisper it–“poo butt fart.” HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA.

And Maddy would just stomp her foot in disgust and say “Boys are SO stupid.” And the boys would run screaming through the house: “POO BUTT FART!”

Well the worm has turned my friends. Nurture is making a comeback.

The other day Maddy said to me, she says, “Dad, you know what a buttercup is?”

“Of course I do.” Duh.

“Well, what’s the point of putting your hand by your butt, farting, and then opening your hand in someone’s face? Seems to me, it’s much more effective to just put your butt in someone’s face and fart. That’s what I did to my friend at school today.”

That’s my Maddy. Never bring a knife to a gun fight.

maddybag

8 Responses to “buttercup”

  1. mark Says:

    I’d love to hear from Maddy regarding the context of the butter (sans cup). Just trying to figure out how that one went down.

  2. steve Says:

    Maddy, I am one proud uncle!! Just don’t tell colleen I said that. I have to agree though, much more effective. Nice nurturing Dug!! I get yelled at for that kind of attitude but I can live vicariously through you guys.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    Dug, did that bring a little tear to your eye, proud Papa?

    My daughter is aware of the time and place to be lady-like, but she’s no prissy. We’ve gone rock climbing a few times and she loves it, please me greatly.

    But she hasn’t taken to bikes yet, although my wife and I are working on that with a low-end Gary Fisher purchased a few months ago.

  4. Rick S. Says:

    She gets THAT from Kim.

  5. Rob (dug's brother) Says:

    oh, it isn’t an age thing. Kim can vouch for the time the same thing worked on both Dug & I. And that was only a number of months ago.
    Oh the classics. “Poo butt fart”. Gets me every time.

  6. The other, other Rob Says:

    Classic!! We have a saying in my house of 3 boys. “Nothing is funnier than poop”!

    And it still works on my 35 y/o buddy. Just gotta say ‘poop’.

  7. ricky Says:

    omg, that’s disgusting. can’t wait to tell my boys about the buttercup. gonna go wake them up right now.

  8. LidsB2 Says:

    Dug,

    I hopped on your blog from Fatty’s today — first time reader. I’ve laughed plenty. My 13 year old daughter read this post after I laughed out loud. She had to try it out on her brothers, 8 and 11. At the instant PBF was uttered, my 8 year old burst into uncontrollable hysterics and the 11 year old wasn’t much better off. I’m afraid it’s universal…


Leave a comment