cold fusion, check.

June 1, 2010

Tick.

Or something like that. Maybe it’s Check.

Either way, I finally got the monkey off my back. For five years I’ve stared at this out my bedroom window:

from house

That’s the North Peak of Mt. Timpanogos. That clean line on the left is called Cold Fusion in some guidebooks, and it’s a 3,000 foot shot of hard-to-match beauty. But it’s hard to get in good and safe conditions, and when conditions are good and safe, it requires a bit of a haul to get to. When the road is closed, it’s a snowmobile to the base and a booter straight up, or when the paved road is open, it’s a 4 mile hike into the base, and a 3,000 foot booter straight up.

And when the dirt road is open, well, it’s not good and safe by then, is it?

I don’t want to rub the joy I feel in finally skiing this line in the faces of any of the knuckleheads who chose to ride their bikes in fast circles in Corner Canyon instead of skiing Cold Fusion with Wonder Twin Rob and me yesterday, so I’ll just let the pictures speak for themselves.

Oh, and Kim took a picture almost identical to the one above, from my porch (also taken from my porch), while Rob and I were booting, just above the rock band. On my fancy camera, I can zoom far enough in to actually see us. What I can’t figure out on my fancy camera is how to then take that picture and crop it and save the cropped and zoomed picture. So you’ll just have to trust me on that.

A low and inauspicious start. And a pack that just groans under the weight of those giant clown skis I love so much:

Cold Fusion-1027

There was enough snow on the Timpooneke road to tempt us to put skins on. And enough dirt to make us regret not bringing bikes. But each of those only lasted about 50 feet or less at a time. Generally.

Cold Fusion-1031

At the base of the chute, after a 4 mile slog in carrying skis AND boots, we finally got the boots onto our feet.

Cold Fusion-1039

Cold Fusion-1041

And it got steeper:

Cold Fusion-1046

And steeper:

Cold Fusion-1052

And even steeper:

Cold Fusion-1056

The views were nice. If you squint your eyes just right, you can see my house back there.

What’s in the bottle? CarboRocket of course. Wish I’d brought more. By the time we were hiking back to the car we were eating snow.

Cold Fusion-1058

Not really sure what Rob’s got going here. I think maybe he’s mad I took the camera:

Cold Fusion-1061

He looks like Seth in No One Talks To Me mode.

Cold Fusion-1063

Back at it:

Cold Fusion-1067

We ran into another group on the way up. Literally. Okay, not really literally.

Cold Fusion-1073

Do I look mad here? I don’t know why. Oh, wait, I know why–this was the first of several false summits:

Cold Fusion-1081

Rob, also realizing we still had a ways to go:

Cold Fusion-1086

Cold Fusion-1087

Here at the top I’m looking into what they call the Grunge. Kind of like the Grudge. But not.

Cold Fusion-1090

Looking DOWN the Grunge. And no, not skiing that. 62 degrees. Let me say again–Not. Not Today anyway.

Cold Fusion-1093

Rob looking into the Grunge. See how the color drained from his face when he looked?

Cold Fusion-1094

Still hasn’t got his color back:

Cold Fusion-1096

I’m heading down for 3,000 feet of creamy Spring goodness. We decided to ski onto the direct North face for the first 1,000 feet or so, jus fer fun. It completely cliffs out though, so then we traversed back to Cold Fusion proper.

Cold Fusion-1105

Cold Fusion-1108

Cold Fusion-1109

 

Cold Fusion-1113

Cold Fusion-1115

Cold Fusion-1116

Cold Fusion-1121

Cold Fusion-1122

Back to Cold Fusion directissimo:

Cold Fusion-1124

Cold Fusion-1126

 

Cold Fusion-1130

Notice how all the pictures are of me? Well, that’s because Rob brought the camera. I brought the Flip video camera. But I haven’t had any time to mess with the footage, adding hip hop music and whatnot. Some other time, perhaps.

Looking back up at the north face, with Cold Fusion hidden behind the ridge.

Cold Fusion-1152

My legs don’t hurt, but my shoulders do. 8 miles with skis and boots on the pack, that can hurt.

Tick. Er, Check.

Let’s look at it again. Jus fer fun.

from house

17 Responses to “cold fusion, check.”

  1. mark Says:

    Um, that picture of Rob, with the color drained from his face, well it’s not Rob.

    Oh, and you could tighten the straps on your pack and maybe your shoulders wouldn’t hurt so much. That much sag = not so good.

    I’m not saying anything nice to make up for my previous remarks, either. Not that I’m jealous or anything. Because riding around in circles is fun. Right?

  2. Jonnie J Says:

    We need to coordinate our schedules a little better.

  3. eber Says:

    that doesn’t look much like the brother we saw Kick Ass with. does a beanie completely change the features of someone wearing it?

    the gigantor boots/giant clown skis combo in the third pic down looks incredibly unwieldy. how’s your back alignment today?

    i’ll look at that chute more vicariously now.

  4. Daren Says:

    Second that on the straps. You look like a teenager with pants hanging down below his butt.

    No, I’m not jealous and riding circles at threshold for two hours was WAYYYYYY more fun.

    • dug Says:

      yeah yeah yeah, the straps. let’s talk about the straps some more.

      i tightened those damn straps like 80 times throughout the day, but they were no match for the big clown skis with the big clown boots. i tighten, they loosen.

      but i can’t give up the big skis or the big boots. if i give them up, next thing you know i’ll be hiking in tights and women’s tops.

  5. Rick S. Says:

    I admit I may have made the wrong decision that day.

    Now I can point to that line and tell my kids that their uncles have skied it but their Dad decided to ride his bike in circles instead.

  6. Ty Says:

    I chose badly. I rode my bike in the morning so I could spend the afternoon with the family, but the family got impatient and left me most of the afternoon. My garage is clean though.

  7. stevenbpt Says:

    for someone who said the pictures were going to do the talking you narrated quite a bit through there!! Well done old man!

    even if you did decide to hike in tights they would hang off you anyway cause you have no butt!

  8. KanyonKris Says:

    I salute your reenactment of the Battle of Monte Castello to memorialize the brave ski commandos of the 10th Mountain Division. You, sir, are a true patriot!

  9. Rob Says:

    The first picture is my “stoic” pose. Or maybe it’s my “chewing a shot block” pose…not sure.

    The No One Talks To Me Mode was near the last part of the exit when you promised me that the car was 100 yards around the upcomming corner. It wasn’t.

  10. nat Says:

    BAD ASS! Thats all.

  11. brkeyes7 Says:

    That looks really scary.

  12. Andrew Says:

    who you calling a knucklehead?

  13. Jared Says:

    Good choice. But Fritschis? I hurt for you. We need to lighten you up.


Leave a comment