i live

July 5, 2009

“What was that?” said Holden.

“Um, my iPhone?” I said as I straightened up from untying the dock rope from the boat this last week at Flaming Gorge, watching my phone disappear into the 50 foot deep water.

“Wow” said Everybody (not at the same time). “You handled that with equanimity and aplomb.

Here’s me later that day, throwing myself off a 50 foot cliff in despair:

summatime 065 mod

But I lived. Which turns out to not be a bad thing:

summatime 070

I can live without a phone. Till Saturday.

9 Responses to “i live”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    What is the average life of a cell phone? Not more than 2 years, I’d wager. So your iPhone died a little young, it only had another year anyway. And you can get the new 3GS now.

    And the cliff jump didn’t result in death, dismemberment, paralysis or disfigurement.

    “Let’s not bicker and argue over who killed who, this is supposed to be a happy occasion.”

    Quite the life perspective weekend for you, eh dug?

  2. evilbanks Says:

    Just think, now you can get new 3GS. We got one for Karee and after setting it all up for her I’m almost halfway converted from the blackberry…….not quite, but almost.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    What I should have said…

    Just use iFloat. You mean they don’t have an app for that?

  4. bikemike Says:

    “i live” is a new apple application i presume?

  5. evilreview Says:

    i keep my iphone in my breast pocket, where it’s incredibly convenient to get to. it has fallen out of that pocket dozens of times, usually when i bend over to take the front wheel off a bike.

    so i can kind of picture what happened here.

  6. Big Boned Says:

    When I saw that picture I thought the rock “threw you off” to get even for killing its friend at RAWROD.

  7. forgingahead Says:

    Serious bummer. Very sorry for your loss (and yes, that’s sincere)

  8. stevenbpt Says:

    That’s what phone holders, glove boxes (jockey box), drawers, even an empty shoe on a boat are for.


Leave a Reply

